EM06 on sprint?

Topics on Service Providers, Deals, Options, Etc.
Post Reply
Cptham
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2020 5:03 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

EM06 on sprint?

Post by Cptham » Sat Jun 20, 2020 5:09 am

I'm having trouble provisioning my EM06 on Sprint. If I take the SIM card from my Samsung phone and put it in my router the modem fails to connect. When I called Sprint to try to provision the device, they said the IMEI is not compatible with the Sprint network.
I'm on the top unlimited plan.
Any suggestions?

radec
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2020 4:17 pm
Location: pnw
Has thanked: 10 times
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: EM06 on sprint?

Post by radec » Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:08 pm

I use a EM06-A on sprint but I have a hotspot only simcard. So things may be different. Do you have the modem set on LTE only mode?

edit:
to put the modem in 4g/lte only mode:

Code: Select all

AT+QCFG="nwscanmode",3,1

User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 298 times
Been thanked: 178 times
Contact:

Re: EM06 on sprint?

Post by Didneywhorl » Fri Jul 03, 2020 8:57 am

What device are you using the modem in?
The Solution for your Internet Connectivity and Speed.

LteHaks9
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 3:02 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: EM06 on sprint?

Post by LteHaks9 » Sat Jul 18, 2020 9:10 pm

radec wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:08 pm
I have a hotspot only simcard.
soo... hot spot sim cards allow the card to be used in any device?

how does one get a hot spot only sim for Sprint? I'm currently trialing Tello and cannot get the Tello sim card to work in an EP06.

User avatar
BillA
Posts: 922
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 191 times
Contact:

Re: EM06 on sprint?

Post by BillA » Wed Jul 29, 2020 4:59 am

LteHaks9 wrote:
Sat Jul 18, 2020 9:10 pm
soo... hot spot sim cards allow the card to be used in any device?

how does one get a hot spot only sim for Sprint? I'm currently trialing Tello and cannot get the Tello sim card to work in an EP06.

Sprint is generally finicky to activate in most modems, you could try first inserting the sim into a phone, let it provision, make a test call, test the data, then move it into the router. Reboot it twice, allowing 5 minutes in between. If still no dice you may want to take a look at this possible solution > viewtopic.php?p=10327#p10327
Sometimes they lock the sim to a specific device's imei, you could try to call customer service, but it's going to be a uphill battle... been there done it. lol

Mcons
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 02, 2020 3:50 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: EM06 on sprint?

Post by Mcons » Sun Aug 02, 2020 3:55 pm

what plan are you using on sprint? I'm trying to test them out but unsure what route will work

User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 298 times
Been thanked: 178 times
Contact:

Re: EM06 on sprint?

Post by Didneywhorl » Thu Aug 06, 2020 11:18 pm

If you use a SIM card out of a true hotspot activated in the hotspot and put it into a router that uses an LTE modem that is NOT using officially branded Sprint firmware, you can use that SIM in that router/modem. The Sprint firmware provisions/checks the IMEI of the device to the SIM card. If the firmware is not official Sprint firmware it does not have this check and does not block the device from the network.

You CANT take a SIM from an officially branded Sprint device with official Sprint firmware on it and swap it to another device that is Sprint branded. You CAN call Sprint and have the service swapped to the new Sprint branded device.

You CANT take the SIM from a Sprint branded device and call Sprint and have them swap service to a LTE gateway router with a hostless generic firmware modem. You CAN generally simply put the SIM from a Sprint branded device into a non branded LTE Gateway router with hostless modem inside using non official "generic" firmware and it simply works. Usually only need to change the APN.

This works for now. No telling what the future holds.

Sprint does allow for static IPs for like $3 a month.

And if you can get the on phone Sprint customer service rep to stop lying about it, Sprint has a $15 a month unlimited hotspot plan.
The Solution for your Internet Connectivity and Speed.

User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 1103
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 298 times
Been thanked: 178 times
Contact:

Re: EM06 on sprint?

Post by Didneywhorl » Thu Aug 06, 2020 11:20 pm

Back to the OP.

Sprint Cell phone and tablets tend to use the X.ISPSN APN. That is an IPV6 only provisioned APN. I've not seem anyone successfully use that APN with a LTE gateway router. Id love to see it and know what settings they used to do so.
The Solution for your Internet Connectivity and Speed.

Post Reply