What's your ideal OVERKILL setup?

This a discussion place for anything.
Dr-BroadBand
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 8:52 am
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 109 times

Re: What's your ideal OVERKILL setup?

Post by Dr-BroadBand » Sat Nov 13, 2021 11:50 am

vectorized wrote:
Thu Nov 11, 2021 11:08 am
Subjective Question Time™:

*I'm not asking for suggestions. I want to know YOUR ideal, perfect world, I had all the money, setups.
I like the way you think 🧐

Can you tell the group more about your setting, Location from towers how many towers. Are you looking to build your system or buy it off the shelf?

What carriers Are available at your location?

Do you have Line of site to the tower?

vectorized
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2021 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: What's your ideal OVERKILL setup?

Post by vectorized » Sat Nov 13, 2021 5:35 pm

Dr-BroadBand wrote:
Sat Nov 13, 2021 11:50 am
I like the way you think 🧐

Can you tell the group more about your setting, Location from towers how many towers. Are you looking to build your system or buy it off the shelf?

What carriers Are available at your location?

Do you have Line of site to the tower?
Dude, you quoted me saying I'm not asking for suggestions for my situation, and then asked me questions to give me suggestions about my situation. wut? :?:

That's not the point. What's your ideal?

vectorized
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2021 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: What's your ideal OVERKILL setup?

Post by vectorized » Sun Nov 14, 2021 1:30 am

mtl26637 wrote:
Sat Nov 13, 2021 10:59 am
If you have a decent knowledge of networking you should be fine.
LOL (used to be a web programmer, so I know some linux/terminal, i'll be ok, but still LOL)
mtl26637 wrote:
Sat Nov 13, 2021 10:59 am
I don't know of any routers that are capable of USB3 on the internal modem slots.
I think the H721 can on ONE slot, and it's m.2, but the 2nd slot is PCIE USB2.0. Board looks a bit too buggy to trust right now. but i want to.
mtl26637 wrote:
Sat Nov 13, 2021 10:59 am
Yes USB2 is capable of 480mbps theoretically but meh, I still see it as a potential limitation for the RM50xQ-AE.
Yeah if you also include upload you can reach the limit.
mtl26637 wrote:
Sat Nov 13, 2021 10:59 am
at the time I had to have something to replace my rpi4 OMR rig so that's how it started.
What happened, cause i was gonna get an RPi? (I feel like we should be DMing: discord: IAwooodMyPants#6969 tho someone else wants to know im sure)


thanks again! This is so helpful.

mtl26637
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 12:35 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: What's your ideal OVERKILL setup?

Post by mtl26637 » Sun Nov 14, 2021 12:29 pm

The H721 may have a capable internal slot as that is one of the few I've not tested. I will say this however, these new modems are power hungry lil turds and in my personal experience, I've had trouble with about every setup with the random disconnects and such. Most of the time these modems are designed to set at idle to save on power since most LTE devices are powered through batteries (phones) but once an upload/download starts they instantly start sucking up the juice. I would hope the designers of the routers/devices know this and have a decent size cap on the power rails for that instant power surge but who knows. What I do know is I've always seemed to have those annoying dropouts and have basically concluded its more than likely power related issues and to add to the problem is normal usb ports are only designed to apply a fraction of what these greedy modems actually need to operate at full capacity. This is why I like the external usb3 enclosure from ltefix so much. The newest design allows for the normal usb port hookup but also has a secondary power source that ranges from 5v-27v I think and can apply that extra needed power and also the newest design does not 'backfeed' power back through the usb3 port to the router/device. On older setups this would backfeed power back to the device and cause issues such as not actually being able to 'hard reset' the modem when the router asked for it cause of the secondary power source.

I started out with the rpi4 and it was great at first but once again I ran into the above problems with the needed power. Also, the rpi4 running OMR becomes a bottleneck at around 200mbps so if you are going to have speeds higher than that you will need something beefier. The WRT32X took its place but it even became a bottleneck hence the switch to the Protectli. I also had several issues with the rpi4's sdcard becoming corrupt for whatever reason. Tried several, but in all I bet I reflashed the rpi4 image 50 times before moving on.

These are all just my personal opinions and experiences and could have easy solutions that I've missed so I wouldn't put all of my weight on it for a decision. They are cheap enough to start out with the pi and see how things go and once your ready just upgrade and use the pi for something else. They are great for many projects. Right now I'm using one as my backdoor into my home network as its running reverse ssh tunnel to my OMR vps.

vectorized
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2021 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: What's your ideal OVERKILL setup?

Post by vectorized » Tue Nov 16, 2021 5:29 pm

mtl26637 wrote:
Sun Nov 14, 2021 12:29 pm
I also had several issues with the rpi4's sdcard becoming corrupt for whatever reason.
This generally happens when the system gets unplugged w/o shutting down. Frequently corrupts the card.

thanks again for all the info. i am sure i wont be the only one to appreciate it.

vectorized
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2021 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: What's your ideal OVERKILL setup?

Post by vectorized » Fri Nov 19, 2021 6:25 pm

mtl26637 wrote:
Sun Nov 14, 2021 12:29 pm
...
ok @mtl26637 I have one more question. Do you use both a GO router (ie. the Linksys) AND the Protectli w/ OMR, at the same time? or just one or the other. IDK how I haven't figured this out already. But I am slightly confused still.

mtl26637
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 12:35 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: What's your ideal OVERKILL setup?

Post by mtl26637 » Sun Nov 21, 2021 2:02 pm

I have between 4 to 5 LTE modems running at any given time. They all plug into the Protectli running OMR.

Example Modem/router setup:
WE1326 router with internal EM7565 modem
RBM33G router with internal EM20G modem
WRT32X router connected to RBM502Q-AE modem in USB3 enclosure connected to WRT32X usb port

All of the router modem setups are then connected to the lan ports of the Protectli running OMR. The Protectli/OMR router acts as the main router gateway for your home lan setup. This will then connect through the various LTE internet connections to an external VPS server such as Vultr.

vectorized
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2021 6:57 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: What's your ideal OVERKILL setup?

Post by vectorized » Mon Nov 22, 2021 8:30 am

mtl26637 wrote:
Sun Nov 21, 2021 2:02 pm

All of the router modem setups are then connected to the lan ports of the Protectli running OMR. The Protectli/OMR router acts as the main router gateway for your home lan setup. This will then connect through the various LTE internet connections to an external VPS server such as Vultr.
Ok, so one doesnt connect a modem directly to OMR, it needs a router box to go through first. I was going to connect 2 modems to a WRT3200ACM via USB, and then plug them into the OMR/Protectli, I wonder if i can use GO to push out a different AP from different LAN ports?

mtl26637
Posts: 195
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2019 12:35 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 74 times

Re: What's your ideal OVERKILL setup?

Post by mtl26637 » Mon Nov 22, 2021 9:50 am

I believe OMR does support direct connections, however, I'm not sure if it can handle multiple as i've never tried. Also the OMR box is already extremely busy with everything else so I'd recommend keeping the modems separate. It all depends on how fast you want your setup to go really. LTE equipment definitely follows the adage 'you get what you pay for'.

Hooking 2 modems to a single box can be done, but again the router would need enough headroom to run both. I've seen several issues with different boxes and modems and versions of firmware trying to run 2 modems. I would avoid the headache and keep a 1/1 ratio.

Post Reply