Placing order for Visible SIM

Topics on Service Providers, Deals, Options, Etc.
Post Reply
busster8
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2021 5:43 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Placing order for Visible SIM

Post by busster8 » Sat Mar 13, 2021 11:25 am

Purchased a used Mofi 4500. Looking at Visible as a service provider. When I go to purchase a bring your own device sim card, it asks me to enter in my IMEI number to check compatibility. It fails.

I see no way to get Visible on my Mofi.

gscheb
Posts: 1177
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:37 am
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Placing order for Visible SIM

Post by gscheb » Sat Mar 13, 2021 7:09 pm

What you want to do is say you have a older iphone. Like a Iphone 6 or something. Say it is unlocked and previously used on verizon. When you do won't even ask for a imei number.
Then activate the sim card in a phone then put it into a router device.

busster8
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2021 5:43 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Placing order for Visible SIM

Post by busster8 » Sun Mar 14, 2021 9:54 am

Thanks,

That worked.

Actinidia_arguta
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 4:46 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Placing order for Visible SIM

Post by Actinidia_arguta » Tue Mar 16, 2021 1:06 pm

I think I might give this a shot. So I just sign up with Visible, receive a SIM card, and pop it in my old Galaxy S4 to activate it? And then just switch it over to my EM12-G setup?

gscheb
Posts: 1177
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:37 am
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Placing order for Visible SIM

Post by gscheb » Tue Mar 16, 2021 1:19 pm

Want to use the visible app to activate the service. Then follow this to set it up. Read this carefully. Shows how to do it on two different kind of modem types. But it works have done it several times if you follow it exactly.
https://ltehacks.com/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=2212

Actinidia_arguta
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 4:46 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Placing order for Visible SIM

Post by Actinidia_arguta » Tue Mar 16, 2021 4:33 pm

Sweet. I just signed up for visible. I just need a hold over until Starlink later this year. It's capped at 5mbps right? That's fine as I only really need web browsing and 480p streaming on 1 TV.

Thanks!

gscheb
Posts: 1177
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:37 am
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Placing order for Visible SIM

Post by gscheb » Tue Mar 16, 2021 5:17 pm

Actinidia_arguta wrote:
Tue Mar 16, 2021 4:33 pm
Sweet. I just signed up for visible. I just need a hold over until Starlink later this year. It's capped at 5mbps right? That's fine as I only really need web browsing and 480p streaming on 1 TV.
Thanks!
Paramount, Hulu, Netflix works just fine with streaming. Use VPN for Prime. Yes it is 5 up&down. But there is ways around that with TTL settings. Right now at this moment mine is Ping 82 down 41 up 10.

Actinidia_arguta
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2020 4:46 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Placing order for Visible SIM

Post by Actinidia_arguta » Fri Mar 19, 2021 4:23 pm

Yay! It works!

My S4 wouldn't turn on, so I bought a Moto e on sale to activate it. Other than that, everything went smoothly. What are your TTL settings? I'm currently set to TTL 117. Even if I only get 5mbps, I can live with that. There are only 2 of us, and we only stream on 1 TV. Is the VPN for Prime to get around the 480p cap, or to be able to use it at all?

Thank for the help buddy!

gscheb
Posts: 1177
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:37 am
Has thanked: 62 times
Been thanked: 229 times

Re: Placing order for Visible SIM

Post by gscheb » Fri Mar 19, 2021 10:45 pm

Actinidia_arguta wrote:
Fri Mar 19, 2021 4:23 pm
What are your TTL settings? Is the VPN for Prime to get around the 480p cap, or to be able to use it at all?
Hello again

The TTL that works for Visible is 64. It is 65 if tethering a phone.

Also for good measure copy and past this shown below in to custom rules
Tab to the left of custom TTL settings called custom rules. When using this turn off custom TTL

#start TTL rules
iptables -t mangle -I POSTROUTING -o wwan0 -j TTL --ttl-set 64
iptables -t mangle -I PREROUTING -i wwan0 -j TTL --ttl-set 64
ip6tables -t mangle -A POSTROUTING -o wwan0 -j HL --hl-set 65
ip6tables -t mangle -I PREROUTING -i wwan0 -j HL --hl-set 65
#end TTL rules

VPN to get around 480p. Prime needs this to work for me. Rest of them just work for some reason.

Post Reply