Is anyone using T-Mobile Rural with good results?

Topics on Service Providers, Deals, Options, Etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
Springer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:39 am

Is anyone using T-Mobile Rural with good results?

Post by Springer » Tue Jul 23, 2019 1:56 pm

I was looking at my towers nearby my house (Rural Southern Maryland) and I have a couple
that seem to have good coverage from my house.

Does anyone have experience using T-Mobile in a fixed Rural location and if so how is the throughput?

Thanks!
Life is too short for slow broadband!

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Is anyone using T-Mobile Rural with good results?

Post by JimHelms » Wed Jul 24, 2019 6:51 am

T-Mobile does seem to work well in a lot of locations. The throughput can vary depending on signal quality and strength--which is generally influenced by tower distance and surrounding terrain--the bands utilized by the tower and modem compatibility, and tower congestion (which is the difficult variable to overcome).

We use T-Mobile on a WE826-T2 with the Sierra Wireless MC7455 that is hardwired into our security system and cameras. Our signal strength is far from being optimal, and we use only the Omni antennas that came on the router. Depending on time of day, we can generally get between 15 and 25 Mbps down/up.

We do have customers using T-Mobile paired with the EM7565 CAT12 modem that get consistent speeds in the 100 to 175 Mbps range. Others are not so lucky due to an overly congested tower.
These users thanked the author JimHelms for the post:
Springer (Sat Jul 27, 2019 12:44 pm)

xdavidx
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Is anyone using T-Mobile Rural with good results?

Post by xdavidx » Wed Jul 24, 2019 2:47 pm

@JimHelms: I have t-mobile for my phone service. I've never tried to push the data usage on my "unlimited" plan (50 GB soft cap).

Do you know if they handle it like AT&T, where they deprioritize you, and you are only affected if the tower is congested, or is it flat throttling after you've reached a limit? I know they use the word "deprioritization", but the things I've read online seem to indicate it is really throttling, or at best, deprioritizing in a very severe way, where you are giving very little access if anyone else is on the tower.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 46 times
Contact:

Re: Is anyone using T-Mobile Rural with good results?

Post by JimHelms » Wed Jul 24, 2019 5:23 pm

xdavidx wrote:
Wed Jul 24, 2019 2:47 pm
@JimHelms: I have t-mobile for my phone service. I've never tried to push the data usage on my "unlimited" plan (50 GB soft cap).

Do you know if they handle it like AT&T, where the deprioritize you, and you are only affected if the tower is congested, or is it flat throttling after you've reached a limit? I know they use the word "deprioritization", but the things I've read online seem to indicate it is really throttling, or at best, deprioritizing in a very severe way, where you are giving very little access if anyone else is on the tower.
No, not really. I do not know that we have ever used 50GB on the setup.
These users thanked the author JimHelms for the post:
Springer (Sat Jul 27, 2019 12:45 pm)

xdavidx
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:04 pm
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Is anyone using T-Mobile Rural with good results?

Post by xdavidx » Wed Jul 24, 2019 10:55 pm

If I try it with my phone SIM in the LTE router, I'll report back on the results.
These users thanked the author xdavidx for the post:
Springer (Sat Jul 27, 2019 12:50 pm)

User avatar
Springer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:39 am

Re: Is anyone using T-Mobile Rural with good results?

Post by Springer » Sat Jul 27, 2019 12:48 pm

Thank you David I’ll be standing by to find out what kind of results you have I am thinking about getting an 826 router and a 7455 modem for it as well here in southern Maryland and regardless I will be pulling the trigger on the modem and router I’m just trying to decide which service or some that I’m going to purchase.
I will be following this thread to see how you make out and if you would like feel free to instant message me your results! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
-Springer
Life is too short for slow broadband!

User avatar
Springer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:39 am

Re: Is anyone using T-Mobile Rural with good results?

Post by Springer » Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:04 pm

Hi Jim thanks for your response! What I’m gonna do is buy an 826 router and a 7455 modem and it looks like to me other than Verizon I have a T-Mobile tower that is about 3 miles away(to the north of me) and I plan to use two of the log periodic outside antennas pointed at the tower.
I also have a Verizon tower that is close to Maryland international Raceway (to my south)and gives me a good signal with a Novatel 6620L hot spot of about -100 but to me it looks like Verizon throttles back your usage sooner and it looks like there are no true unlimited Verizon plans without caps or throttling.

BTW I plan to use this system with an alarm system and to stream digital content and email etc to replace HughesNet satellite internet.

What I am wondering is if T-Mobile business legacy plans actually really exist where I could use 100 to 200 gigs of data off of the T-Mobile tower without throttling or de-prioritizing?
Maybe somebody can answer that question for me but in any case I will be testing out my Verizon Sim in the modem and I am going to go ahead and acquire one of these T-Mobile Sim’s to test out from my location as well. I did fill out a survey on the site to send to the carriers yesterday and I will let you know what they say from my particular location but my ZIP Code is 20622 in Charlotte Hall Maryland and I am about 1 mile from Maryland international raceway Bud’s creek I am on the north side of that race track so I am about a half mile closer to Route 301 from the track.
I will get back to you guys as to what I find out fortunately I have a amateur radio background so I am pretty good at setting up antennas and radios and basically that’s what we have here!
Digital radios with antennas!
-Springer :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
xdavidx wrote:
Wed Jul 24, 2019 2:47 pm
@JimHelms: I have t-mobile for my phone service. I've never tried to push the data usage on my "unlimited" plan (50 GB soft cap).

Do you know if they handle it like AT&T, where they deprioritize you, and you are only affected if the tower is congested, or is it flat throttling after you've reached a limit? I know they use the word "deprioritization", but the things I've read online seem to indicate it is really throttling, or at best, deprioritizing in a very severe way, where you are giving very little access if anyone else is on the tower.
Life is too short for slow broadband!

xdavidx
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Is anyone using T-Mobile Rural with good results?

Post by xdavidx » Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:30 pm

Springer wrote:
Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:04 pm
I did fill out a survey on the site to send to the carriers yesterday and I will let you know what they say from my particular location
Can you elaborate more on what type of survey you filled out and on which site?

As for my testing, unfortunately, it won't be really soon. I have a car transmission that has been occupying all my free time and then, after that, I have to figure out why my router no longer sees my LTE modem.

What I can say is that I received a new booster from T-mobile 2 days ago. The old one supported bands 2 and 4. The new one also supports band 12. The new version of the booster even has an android app that works with it and shows the carrier information. I found out that the band 12 on the tower it picked up is a horrible 5 MHz band that, although gets 3/5 bars on the booster placed in the upstairs window, performs very poorly. And my old HSPA+ phone (doesn't support LTE) won't connect to the booster when I have band 12 enabled for some reason, even though it is a totally different frequency and protocol that phone is using vs the LTE phones in the house.

The app allows me to disable/enable any of the 3 bands. I disabled band 12 and I think it picked up band 4 and LTE worked fairly well, but not very fast. HSPA+ worked on my phone too, but again, not very fast. I need to do more testing with the old booster vs the new one, because I have to return the old one soon.

All that is to say that I'm in a t-mobile deadzone and it has always been that way an continues to be that way. I plan on taking the booster apart and putting it in an outdoor enclosure and putting it on the roof for better signal strength for our phones. This booster doesn't support external antennas either, although I do wonder if it might be possible to hook them up to the circuit board, since the manufacturer does have the same models available outside the USA and those do support external antennas.

User avatar
Springer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:39 am

Re: Is anyone using T-Mobile Rural with good results?

Post by Springer » Sat Jul 27, 2019 10:28 pm

Hey David sorry to hear about your transmission hope you get that squared away. As far as the survey is concerned it was here and it was one of the main threads on coverage and providers.
I will try to pull that link and post it up for you. I also hope your new amplifier works well for you and it certainly is an advantage that you have the ability to select certain bands that work better for you. I haven’t ordered the hardware yet I think I will do that tomorrow afternoon evening when I have more Internet time.
This weekend is pretty busy for us we are running around visiting my mother who is in a retirement home but doing really well and we have a picnic with a group of our friends tomorrow but I’ll have more time to hit the boards here tomorrow night.
I’ll be working night shift and I will pull that information out for you and post it. Thanks for all your good feedback I really appreciate it.
-Springer
Life is too short for slow broadband!

User avatar
Springer
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:39 am

Re: Is anyone using T-Mobile Rural with good results?

Post by Springer » Tue Aug 06, 2019 1:11 pm

ATTN: xdavidx I sent you a PM for the link to the internet survey but in case anyone
is interested here it it.....

https://ltefix.com/internet-service/

-Springer
Life is too short for slow broadband!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post