MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Sierra Wireless AirPrime Modem Card Topics
srunyon1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 4:38 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by srunyon1 » Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:56 pm

just a follow up on my situation.
I purchased the EM20 and it really works great, however after a month or so , it started switching to the lower speed cell id again.

I've look through the rest of the posts and was able to run the

Code: Select all

AT+QENG="servingcell"
+QENG: "servingcell","NOCONN","LTE","FDD",310,410,A174011,321,5110,12,3,3,8B1E,-88,-14,-57,9,-
Not quite sure now how to add that info to the QNWLOCK command.

Code: Select all

AT+QNWLOCK=?
+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",<num of cells>,[[<freq>,<pci>],...]
+QNWLOCK: "common/lte"[,<action>[,<EARFCN>,<PCI>[,<status>]]]

OK
Can someone help me with the syntax?

Also how do I get a modem status that tells me something about the signal strength of each separate antenna?

Code: Select all

AT!GSTATUS?

Code: Select all

AT!GSTATUS?
ERROR

when i run the status command listed in this thread i just get an error back.
it seems the EM20 uses some different commands and I have yet to find a complete list for this version

Thanks for all the help!!!!

Ziggy.

User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 2160
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 743 times
Been thanked: 452 times
Contact:

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by Didneywhorl » Sun Jul 26, 2020 2:22 am

The Quectel modems do not have the well done AT!GSTATUS? command that Sierra Wireless modems use. Your closest bet is AT+QENG="SERVINGCELL"?

THE command AT+QNWLOCK is relatively unexplored. Its on my list.

srunyon1
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2020 4:38 pm
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by srunyon1 » Sun Mar 14, 2021 11:40 am

So I think i got it,
first run
AT+QENG="neighbourcell"

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,412,-16,-93,-56,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,254,-17,-95,-68,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,258,-20,-99,-68,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,212,-20,-99,-69,0,-,-,-,-,-


Then Run

AT+QENG="servingcell"

When it is connected to the good Cell

servingcell","NOCONN","LTE","FDD",310,410,A17400A,**412,800**,2,5,5,8B1E,-93,-15,-57,10,0,80,-

These are the numbers you are looking for.
you will see in the Neighbourcells the order has to be swaped so I want **800,412**
This takes a bit to figure out, I have two modems and one sits on the good cell and I was able to see the info to understand what I wanted.

AT+QENG="neighbourcell"

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,412,-16,-93,-56,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,254,-17,-95,-68,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,258,-20,-99,-68,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,212,-20,-99,-69,0,-,-,-,-,-

So to lock to the Cell that I want it is 800,412

then I ran

AT+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",1,800,412

AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g",1,800,412

Then if you run you see its locked

AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g"

+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",1, **800,412**

OK

I think to un lock it then you run
AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g",0

and it puts it back to


AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g"

+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",0

OK

User avatar
BillA
Posts: 1058
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 176 times
Been thanked: 267 times
Contact:

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by BillA » Mon Mar 15, 2021 9:13 am

srunyon1 wrote:
Sun Mar 14, 2021 11:40 am
So I think i got it,
I ran

AT+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",1,800,412

AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g",1,800,412

Then if you run you see its locked

AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g"

+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",1, **800,412**

After you restart the modem, does it stick to the specified cellID order when you send a "neighbourcell"?
The reason I'm asking, is because towers can actually override it to ensure network integrity.

websiteperson
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 1:51 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by websiteperson » Mon Jun 07, 2021 12:25 am

Is this still working for you? I'll have my LTE router tomorrow & I'll need to do the same thing 😉

websiteperson
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2021 1:51 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Post by websiteperson » Tue Jun 22, 2021 10:20 am

BillA wrote:
Mon Mar 15, 2021 9:13 am



After you restart the modem, does it stick to the specified cellID order when you send a "neighbourcell"?
The reason I'm asking, is because towers can actually override it to ensure network integrity.
Just thought I'd followup & say I got my setup going, and was able to lock to one tower (set primary cell) thanks to this thread.

Per your question, I assume you mean for specifying more than 1 tower/cell. I have not tried that, as I'm using directional antennas. In the event it doesn't, could you just run the AT command using a cron job, or do they have to be done on the Miscellaneous page? I'm kind of a noob with this stuff 🙂

Note for lurkers: in srunyon's last post, he has the command/result flipped. To apply the setting, be sure you use the = sign, so in his example:
QNWLOCK="common/4g",1,800,412

I thought it didn't work after trying with the colon, my first read through. If you're experienced with AT commands, though, you'd probably catch that & not make my mistake. 🙂

Post Reply