please help with my internet m1100 nighthawk signal

Related to Modems, Hotspots, Dongles ONLY
MattB29
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 3:09 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: please help with my internet m1100 nighthawk signal

Post by MattB29 » Tue Nov 09, 2021 3:11 pm

As a bit of personal story with antennas. I have been using a flat panel 18dbi Mimo outdoor antenna bought off Alie Express. Some sellers list it at 22dbi (all these dbi ratings are suspect)for the same thing. Today I got in a higher quality built flat panel 7-9dbi antenna (sorry not from this Forum's merchant)and installed it. My numbers are only marginally better for band 66 but much better band 2 and if it drifts to band 12 I show fantastic readings and 5 bars signal.

Was it worth buying and installing the more expensive antenna? Hard to say at this point. Several days of different times and conditions need to be tested for.

So on Band 66 just a few minutes ago with new antenna, Mr1100.
RSRP: -105 dbm,
RSRQ: -10 dbm
RS-SINR 15 dbm
Quality: 40

My speed test results:
Image

bakenast
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 8:29 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: please help with my internet m1100 nighthawk signal

Post by bakenast » Tue Nov 16, 2021 7:26 pm

So I bought a mimo antenna and plugged it in and none of my numbers change or improve compared to not using a antenna at all pointed at the tower I have power cord plugged in and tried powering off.. I notice the t9 antenna plugs always fall out of the hotspot and do not make a tight fit.. that is with my new mimo antenna and my initial siso antenna

bakenast
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 8:29 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: please help with my internet m1100 nighthawk signal

Post by bakenast » Tue Nov 16, 2021 7:29 pm

Rsrp -105.

Rsrq -13

45 dam

LTE band 12. Same statistics with or without mimo

MattB29
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 3:09 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: please help with my internet m1100 nighthawk signal

Post by MattB29 » Wed Nov 17, 2021 7:59 am

If you want good advice you need to give more detail. Those of us willing to help can not see what your setup is. Working with these things require being methodical.

From the little information you provide all I can glean is your TS-9 connectors are no good. They should not just fall out. In my M1 they are tight. Mine is a TS-9 on one end than short cable to the SMA other end to hook to the 5 meters RG-58 cable. Then outside to the external Mimo antenna that I spent hours aiming for best results. Aiming the antenna was not just pointing at a tower since in my location you can not see them.

The other is your settings for the M1. Do you have under Advanced Settings>Cellular>Band Region> Set to LTE All? Do you also have in Setup>Mobile Router Setup>Ethernet Standby> Disabled? BTW how do you connect the Mr1100 with your devices?

I also suggest you Search for "Mr1100 adding external antennas" and read as much as you can.

bakenast
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 8:29 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: please help with my internet m1100 nighthawk signal

Post by bakenast » Thu Nov 25, 2021 5:00 pm

ok i got it to work i had to squeeze close the t-9 connecters to get it to fit tight.. i used a old pole saw i had and removed the saw and use it for a 16' antenna pole i got my speeds up to 13 mbps which is good for everything we need b2 band gets much better speeds and b12 for us, and after i got the mimo up in the air it picked up.. thanks now i am looking for a way to extend my nighthawk wifi range in our house we get like 15' range in long range mode.. is there a wifi router that i could just plug the ethernet cable in from the nighthawk and use it to extend range... thanks!

MattB29
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2020 3:09 pm
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 49 times

Re: please help with my internet m1100 nighthawk signal

Post by MattB29 » Fri Nov 26, 2021 8:31 am

Explained best here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9t1RJsYymGg

Any home router will do.

Oh BTW, change the routers IP before mucking with turning off the M1 IP bypass if the routers administration access URL is also 191.168.1.1.
Do it without being connected to the M1. Saves on hassle.

Post Reply