Putting Calyx SIM in different hotspot

Related to Modems, Hotspots, Dongles ONLY
Post Reply
m_johnson
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2021 5:00 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0

Putting Calyx SIM in different hotspot

Post by m_johnson » Wed Feb 03, 2021 5:11 pm

Apologies if this basic but I'm struggling to find answers so thought I'd ask. I'm planning to work remote from my car / in remote areas soon and am piecing together my mobile connectivity setup. Think I'll donate to Calyx to tap into their unlimited data, but am concerned about the low quality and lack of external antennae for the two available hotspot models that come with a donation (LINKZONE 2 or Franklin T9). I came across one post that indicated that an unlocked NightHawk M1100 could be set to tap into TMobile bands and drastically improve speed - curious if anyone has done this.

TLDR: Looking for any/all advice on porting a Calyx SIM into a more powerful hotspot that will help me stay connected in remote areas with better speeds. Thanks in advance!

User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 1986
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 669 times
Been thanked: 409 times
Contact:

Re: Putting Calyx SIM in different hotspot

Post by Didneywhorl » Thu Feb 04, 2021 10:48 pm

I put a Quectel EM12G modem into a WG3526-P router and used my calyx SIM. Works great. No real special changes needed.

https://ltefix.com/shop/routers/lte-routers/wg3526-p/
https://ltefix.com/shop/modems/quectel- ... 2-modem-2/

Needs an adapter and different pigtails to assemble and make work properly. Super easy to pop together:
https://ltefix.com/shop/cables/pigtail- ... ail-cable/
https://ltefix.com/shop/cables/pigtail- ... ail-cable/
https://ltefix.com/shop/pcie-m-2/mini-p ... card-slot/

Lewnr321
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2021 12:41 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Putting Calyx SIM in different hotspot

Post by Lewnr321 » Mon Mar 29, 2021 12:58 pm

Hey I’m doing the same thing as you as I already have an unlocked nighthawk. Did you find a solution? I’ve found some that say change the apn and turn on roaming. Other than that I can’t find any easily explained instructions. Let me know if you find anything

User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 1986
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 669 times
Been thanked: 409 times
Contact:

Re: Putting Calyx SIM in different hotspot

Post by Didneywhorl » Mon Mar 29, 2021 2:28 pm

The Nighthawks don't support Sprint bands, even though they do support Tmobile, Calyx is Sprint primary and Tmobile secondary. the Nighthawk isn't approved on the Sprint network, and doesn't seem to have a "Generic" firmware for bypassing the Firmware requirements.

I've never seen it done on a Nighthawk.

noahberg98
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 12:43 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Putting Calyx SIM in different hotspot

Post by noahberg98 » Tue Apr 13, 2021 12:45 pm

@Didneywhorl
Was any IMEI rebuilding necessary when using the EM12G modem into a WG3526-P.
Any speed test differences between hotspot and WG3526-P?
Thanks!

User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 1986
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 669 times
Been thanked: 409 times
Contact:

Re: Putting Calyx SIM in different hotspot

Post by Didneywhorl » Tue Apr 13, 2021 3:02 pm

noahberg98 wrote:
Tue Apr 13, 2021 12:45 pm
@Didneywhorl
Was any IMEI rebuilding necessary when using the EM12G modem into a WG3526-P.
Any speed test differences between hotspot and WG3526-P?
Thanks!
Nope, most true hotspots do not need it, this one is one of those.

For me yes, because I couldn't get good signal. I needed the outdoor antennas. Add to that ethernet ports and add on WiFi APs and it is WAY better!

chewspam
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:19 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Putting Calyx SIM in different hotspot

Post by chewspam » Wed May 05, 2021 12:08 pm

Didneywhorl wrote:
Thu Feb 04, 2021 10:48 pm
I put a Quectel EM12G modem into a WG3526-P router and used my calyx SIM. Works great. No real special changes needed.

https://ltefix.com/shop/routers/lte-routers/wg3526-p/
https://ltefix.com/shop/modems/quectel- ... 2-modem-2/

Needs an adapter and different pigtails to assemble and make work properly. Super easy to pop together:
https://ltefix.com/shop/cables/pigtail- ... ail-cable/
https://ltefix.com/shop/cables/pigtail- ... ail-cable/
https://ltefix.com/shop/pcie-m-2/mini-p ... card-slot/
To be clear, you used your existing Calyx sim and put it in this setup, and it worked? I'm looking at doing the same thing.

Post Reply