CBA850 and DHCP

Topics related to Routers
Post Reply
krums
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:44 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

CBA850 and DHCP

Post by krums » Sat Apr 06, 2019 4:39 pm

So, I connected the CBA850 via port 2 and POE to an unmanaged POE switch (that provides the power to the device). It powers up and connects to the internet. I then put an access point (just a Wi-Fi access point) to the same unmanaged switch and the CBA850 doesn't seem to give the access point an IP address and therefore allow clients access. Clients wont get DHCP either.

If I connect the access point via port 1 (and power the CBA850 with the adapter) the DHCP seems to work, and clients get addresses.

I am curious because I really wanted to power this with POE, so I am not sure what I am missing? Forgive me if this is dumb question. It looks to me as though port 2 would be configured for DHCP server?

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 1286
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 148 times
Contact:

Re: CBA850 and DHCP

Post by JimHelms » Sun Apr 07, 2019 1:25 pm

That is most likely due to the CBA850LP6 being in IP Passthrough mode. It does this automatically when using the PoE LAN port. There are instructions on this TUTORIAL on how to configure it to be in DHCP mode.

User avatar
BillA
Posts: 797
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 125 times
Been thanked: 150 times
Contact:

Re: CBA850 and DHCP

Post by BillA » Sat Dec 21, 2019 6:47 am

Either what JimHelms has suggested, or it's possible that the unmanaged POE hub in between the CBA850LP6 and your access point is causing CBA850LP6 not to assign DHCP properly. For testing purposes try to borrow a managed switch from someone and see if you get DHCP IP with that. ;)

Post Reply