Need Help on Flashing Software (the two I got are in Chinese)

Related to Router Devices ONLY
Sergeant Major
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 2:54 pm
Location: Full-time RVer
Contact:

Need Help on Flashing Software (the two I got are in Chinese)

Post by Sergeant Major » Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:29 pm

I purchased two of the WE-826-T2 Routers with Sierra Wireless MC7455 modems from LTE FIX. The tutorial to install the modems was very easy to follow, so thank you for that.

These two routers are set-up with OpenWRT Chinese software, so I don't have a clue how to follow the online tutorial which is in English. I don't see a button to switch the software to English, and doing a search in the blog hasn't helped. I am sure I am simply missing a button for the English switch over. Once I get past this hurdle, then I "might" be able to quickly re-flash it to the WiFiX as shown in the second tutorial for set-up. I am 6 hours into this, and I was thinking 30 minutes to 1 hour set-up max for each one of them. :(

Sergeant Major
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 2:54 pm
Location: Full-time RVer
Contact:

Re: Need Help on Flashing Software (the two I got are in Chinese)

Post by Sergeant Major » Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:58 pm

Someone at the Sales Office called me and gave me the following link to use. He said the brand new T-2 model routers often have Chinese software and can not be flashed in the normal way as the older T models, and must be boot loaded instead.

https://ltehacks.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=5

I am trying to change the IPV4 IP address for the ethernet port (as shown in the tutorial), saving the setting, rebooting the computer, and going to http://192.168.1.1/ with the browser to boot load the new software, without success. I have the new software already downloaded and setting in a folder on my desktop. If anyone is experienced in this process, I would greatly appreciate the help. I will gladly call you if you have the time & experience. I am fairly computer literate, just not any type of hacker. I think this will go fairly quickly. Thanks for any time or help with getting at least one of these up & running so hopefully I can repeat the process. I can send you a PM with my phone number or vice-versa. (Just my luck, when I get my order, the router software is now in Chinese & the normal flashing process is now different.) Thanks.

bjames
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:02 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Need Help on Flashing Software (the two I got are in Chinese)

Post by bjames » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:38 pm

Using the boot loader can be aggregating at times. I have used it on numerous occasions and after a while you sort of develop a touch for it. The important part seems to be the timing, deciding when to let off the reset button in order to access the boot loader menu.

I once timed the process and determined it was either 10 or 15 seconds from the time you plugged the power back into the router.

You may give that a try.
These users thanked the author bjames for the post:
Sergeant Major (Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:43 pm)

bjames
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:02 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Need Help on Flashing Software (the two I got are in Chinese)

Post by bjames » Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:52 pm

One other thing is you might want to clear your browser cache prior to trying to access the bootloader menu.

You can normally do this by placing your mouse at the top of the open web page tab and pressing the Ctrl and F5 button at the same time.

One other change that I seem to have done on an occasion or two is to leave the gateway settings on the Windows network card blank. In other words, remove the 192.168.1.1 and leave it blank.
These users thanked the author bjames for the post:
Sergeant Major (Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:43 pm)

Sergeant Major
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 2:54 pm
Location: Full-time RVer
Contact:

Re: Need Help on Flashing Software (the two I got are in Chinese)

Post by Sergeant Major » Wed Jan 09, 2019 1:17 am

Thanks bjames. I finally got both routers flashed. I just kept rebooting the computer & resetting the routers and finally the bootloader menus loaded.

I am now searching this group for tutorials so I can set up one router to use AT&T and the other to use Verizon. When I plug in the Sim cards, I get no connection on either router or network, so I know I have to tweak some settings.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 585
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 32 times
Contact:

Re: Need Help on Flashing Software (the two I got are in Chinese)

Post by JimHelms » Wed Jan 09, 2019 9:16 am

Sergeant Major wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 1:17 am

I am now searching this group for tutorials so I can set up one router to use AT&T and the other to use Verizon. When I plug in the Sim cards, I get no connection on either router or network, so I know I have to tweak some settings.
Our initial releases of the WE826-T2 routers require a few modifications to connect.

Please refer to this TOPIC
These users thanked the author JimHelms for the post:
Sergeant Major (Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:42 pm)

Sergeant Major
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 2:54 pm
Location: Full-time RVer
Contact:

Re: Need Help on Flashing Software (the two I got are in Chinese)

Post by Sergeant Major » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:36 am

JimHelms, I followed this tutorial, but when I get to Step 2, - enter correct APN for carrier you are using, it is merely a blank line with no carriers to select from. I imagine there must be a 4th tutorial I need to follow now to manually input the carrier APN? I will say, building one of these is definitely not for the average person to attempt. ;) Thanks for the help.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 585
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: Need Help on Flashing Software (the two I got are in Chinese)

Post by JimHelms » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:45 am

Sergeant Major wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:36 am
JimHelms, I followed this tutorial, but when I get to Step 2, - enter correct APN for carrier you are using, it is merely a blank line with no carriers to select from. I imagine there must be a 4th tutorial I need to follow now to manually input the carrier APN?
You must type in the APN using your keyboard.
I will say, building one of these is definitely not for the average person to attempt. LOL
Probably not, but again maybe my grandmother is not average. lol

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 585
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 32 times
Contact:

Re: Need Help on Flashing Software (the two I got are in Chinese)

Post by JimHelms » Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:00 am

I edited the TOPIC to include a list of APNs used by the more common carriers.
These users thanked the author JimHelms for the post:
Sergeant Major (Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:42 pm)

Sergeant Major
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2018 2:54 pm
Location: Full-time RVer
Contact:

Re: Need Help on Flashing Software (the two I got are in Chinese)

Post by Sergeant Major » Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:40 am

JimHelms, thanks for adding the additional steps on what to type, that is all I needed to complete the process to get both devices working.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post