Modem NOT identified

Related to Router Devices ONLY
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related issues PRIOR to posting for assistance.
User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: Modem NOT identified

Post by JimHelms » Thu Jan 16, 2020 8:03 am

Richtow8 wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 8:44 pm
What happened to my concluding posts? I reported how this worked and obviously bjames would not have been the misled critic had my posts been in here. Solutions to the unknown are upon us. Post my solutions for everyone to prosper by. The strategic arrangement appears to save one face at the expense of another. Not cool! This was far too time costly to send up in a smoke screen!
None of your posts have been blocked or removed by myself or any of the moderators. That is not the way we operate, especially considering the time we have invested thus far.

There are times when a post is drafted and not immediately posted, and any sort of loss in connection to the forum, will prevent the post when hitting the Submit button.

Didneywhorl
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Modem NOT identified

Post by Didneywhorl » Thu Jan 16, 2020 8:47 am

Awwww, that sucks. Its fixed, you posted the solution, but its not here?


Repost repost
LTE noob, for sure. Learning though.

Didneywhorl
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Modem NOT identified

Post by Didneywhorl » Thu Jan 16, 2020 8:48 am

I concur, I saw no moderation on my end either
LTE noob, for sure. Learning though.

Richtow8
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 12:40 pm

Re: Modem NOT identified

Post by Richtow8 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:40 am

Greetings!

The darndest things happen or not, like ghosts to what seem to be the high points, lately. It's must be me! Reconstructing is not one of my best abilities for sure, and that is why I attend to these very rapidly. With that said, I'll try.

From what I saw, the plan is an unlimited on a business account. The owner has not provided me with further details.

The preset modem that I had purchased earlier, via Amazon, is showing model E826-T2. This was working very good when first set up, so good that my first test was updating Intuit products which it did flawlessly and under the worst conditions. VZ 2 bars at best. Naturally, a system restart was required and it was nothing more than near-no-speed after that.

I ordered all the components to build this similar product which brought me to this blog. It would not work and worse, the SIM went down (was VZ bricked). Key notes are that this went from a phone to a VZ hot spot to the woking E826-T2 and finally into the E826GO and at that time only, the auto response from VZ was identifying this product and advised to put the sim back into the phone.

After a while, the sim went back into the phone and eventually came back up and operating. It then went into the E826-T2 as that was known to be functioning but far too slow. However, before inserting the sim, I had found the settings for the time zone and posted the strange findings, it would not change the time until only AFTER the SAVE button was applied. That is when we received that clever reply, Save and do it again to make sure. A very good idea!

I saved the time zone on both E826 devices and finally, into the E826-T2 where it is today. This is currently running incredibly well yet I'm told by my IT#2 assistant that the E826GO will be faster.

The dilemma is that the E826GO has been flagged by VZ so the next strategy is to hack and hide. The E826GO will show the same IEE as the phone. Either this will work or the component within the E826GO will have to be replaced as that is now assumed to be on a VZ blacklist.

To all the generous contributors... THANK YOU!. The party hasn't started yet and perhaps some of this is not pertinent but issues that might circumvent issues with experience with a "greenhorn" might contribute the the future of this community. I applaud the existence and will note that I didn't even know how to use a blog, glad I do now and also admit that my first contact not being a phone support was extremely upsetting, especially under the gun. The mail was piling up too fast and high for comfort. The only other experience I had with no phone tech support was just the week before. That was a real scam that I exposed and recovered from. The lesson from that information is that there will be hard days and hard attitude seeking relief via getting into these products (personal conditions) of which will carry a wide spectrum of natural attitude that might get circumvented or vented by nothing more than a directional (introduction and what to do next) phone call. The time zone different from us in EST has also inflated the anxiety to a small degree.

There is a need for this. Fighting fire with fire, short than ethical marketing (phone companies), specifically, "unlimited".. You know the program. I am all about fighting and offsetting such corporate marketing. This world does not consist of perfect readers and IT specialists which makes the greater population, mostly blue collar workers, get caught in their webs.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: Modem NOT identified

Post by JimHelms » Thu Jan 16, 2020 12:14 pm

Richtow8 wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:40 am
The only other experience I had with no phone tech support was just the week before. That was a real scam that I exposed and recovered from.

The lesson from that information is that there will be hard days and hard attitude seeking relief via getting into these products (personal conditions) of which will carry a wide spectrum of natural attitude that might get circumvented or vented by nothing more than a directional (introduction and what to do next) phone call.
First, thanks for the update.

Second, there is no scam in not providing technical support via phone call. It appears hard enough to follow directions that are provided with both photos and instructions.

Thus, we do not have the resources to spend countless hours on the phone trying to help people resolve issues that would ultimately require some form of written instructions. This is the utility value and function of the forum. All issues that are resolved become record for other members to use who are having similar issues.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: Modem NOT identified

Post by JimHelms » Thu Jan 16, 2020 12:29 pm

Richtow8 wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 11:40 am

The dilemma is that the E826GO has been flagged by VZ so the next strategy is to hack and hide. The E826GO will show the same IEE as the phone. Either this will work or the component within the E826GO will have to be replaced as that is now assumed to be on a VZ blacklist.
The router does not connect to the carrier network. It is a device that strictly operates the modem.

The modem is the only component that connects to the carrier network and only the modem provides identification (i.e., IMEI, MEID, SIM ICC ID).

Richtow8
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 12:40 pm

Re: Modem NOT identified

Post by Richtow8 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 2:24 pm

Jim,
The SCAM I referred to was purchasing a product that are totally not related to your business and only a reference to the only other vendor who did not have a phone number exposed. Please don't misunderstand. The mention was only to prepare you for what MIGHT be expected in the future. This other deal was extremely well presented. Truly amazing. "Too good to be true" and I never fall fur such but did this time. It was that good! So if this becomes the new "norm", you are aware of what mind set people will evolve into.

Richtow8
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2020 12:40 pm

Re: Modem NOT identified

Post by Richtow8 » Thu Jan 16, 2020 5:35 pm

Hi Jim,

My IT guru worked hard to attempted to make the WE826GO look like the phone IMEI but could not. He suggests that the american made product is probably listed where the Chinese is not. Also the WE826-T2 easily accepted the IMEI. I want the WE826GO to work, simply because it's suppose to be faster. What next?

bjames
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:02 pm

Re: Modem NOT identified

Post by bjames » Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:04 pm

Richtow8 wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 5:35 pm
Hi Jim,

My IT guru worked hard to attempted to make the WE826GO look like the phone IMEI but could not. He suggests that the american made product is probably listed where the Chinese is not. Also the WE826-T2 easily accepted the IMEI. I want the WE826GO to work, simply because it's suppose to be faster. What next?
As Jim mentioned in his previous post, the network cannot see the router. The router cannot look like a phone IMEI since it is the modem that has the IMEI and not the router. It is the modem that transmits its IMEI to Verizon. The WE826GO is a WE826-T2 with GoldenOrb firmware loaded on it. Now if you are referring to making the modem resemble a phone to bypass the hotspot limitations imposed by Verizon, that is done by changing the TTL values in the Custom Firewall tab. But that should not be confused with changing the IMEI for obvious reasons.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 1106
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: Modem NOT identified

Post by JimHelms » Thu Jan 16, 2020 7:02 pm

bjames wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 6:04 pm
As Jim mentioned in his previous post, the network cannot see the router. The router cannot look like a phone IMEI since it is the modem that has the IMEI and not the router. It is the modem that transmits its IMEI to Verizon. The WE826GO is a WE826-T2 with GoldenOrb firmware loaded on it. Now if you are referring to making the modem resemble a phone to bypass the hotspot limitations imposed by Verizon, that is done by changing the TTL values in the Custom Firewall tab. But that should not be confused with changing the IMEI for obvious reasons.
You are right on point with this post.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post