WG3526 EM7565 Modem Present Not Connected

Related to Router Devices ONLY
qisdtech
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 9:58 pm

Re: WG3526 EM7565 Modem Present Not Connected

Post by qisdtech » Sun Jan 27, 2019 9:59 pm

Hey Jim,
I have a question regarding a WG3526 and EM7565, running the 2019 GO firmware. I'm having an issue with a static IP T-Mobile sim card that won't connect in LTE, only in HSPA+. T-Mobile uses B2B.static APN and IPV4 only. The router seems to have the modem boot up in IPV4V6 mode. I have typed the command +CGDCONT: 1,"IP","B2B.static" in the modem misc AT command terminal, but I notice when viewing what the modem is doing under Debug Information, another command automatically sent a short time later, AT+CGDCONT=1,"IPV4V6","B2B.static" which effectively cancels out the first command I sent. Any tips on how to make the the static APN just use IP instead of IPV4V6? I managed somehow to get the router to connect in LTE, but the next time I rebooted the router it goes back to HSPA+ and the IPV4V6. Thanks in advance.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: WG3526 EM7565 Modem Present Not Connected

Post by JimHelms » Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:16 pm

There are two possible solutions. I would try the first method and if that did not resolve, add the second.

First method. Add the preferred APN to the start up:

Code: Select all

at+cgdcont=1,"ip","B2B.static"
AT-Command At Startup.png

Be sure and SAVE & APPLY

You will need to reboot the router for it to take effect.

If that still does not cure the issue, you can disable IPV6 in the modem. This would keep the modem from connecting using IPv6 but may not change the IPV4V6 APN that is being sent to the modem (that the first method hopefully resolves):

Code: Select all

at!entercnd="A710"
at!custom="IPV6ENABLE",0
at!reset

qisdtech
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 9:58 pm

Re: WG3526 EM7565 Modem Present Not Connected

Post by qisdtech » Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:23 am

Just an update. I tried both methods without success. It does send the correct APN info, but just a few seconds later the router overwrites what I did with the IPV4V6 APN. I assume there's not a setting to modify to change the IPV4V6 to IP ?
It's like it's built-into the boot-up of the WiFix firmware. I have found a workaround, I simply just keep typing in the correct line and eventually it takes, attaches to LTE and works well, until the router is rebooted.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: WG3526 EM7565 Modem Present Not Connected

Post by JimHelms » Tue Jan 29, 2019 9:07 am

qisdtech wrote:
Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:23 am
Just an update. I tried both methods without success. It does send the correct APN info, but just a few seconds later the router overwrites what I did with the IPV4V6 APN. I assume there's not a setting to modify to change the IPV4V6 to IP ?
It's like it's built-into the boot-up of the WiFix firmware. I have found a workaround, I simply just keep typing in the correct line and eventually it takes, attaches to LTE and works well, until the router is rebooted.
You will most like need to modify a line in one of the scripts that is issuing the IPV4V6 command. I will play with doing this when I get some extra time.

User avatar
darren.may
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 8:43 am

Re: WG3526 EM7565 Modem Present Not Connected

Post by darren.may » Thu Jan 31, 2019 5:55 pm

Hi Jim,
I received my USB to M.2 adapter today and attempted to follow your EM7565 restore AT commands tutorial.

When I get to the fdt2.exe step I get the following output:

Code: Select all

FDT version: 1.0.1806.0
Awaiting suitable port or adapter ...
Enabling selective suspend ...
Firmware download failed.
Primary error code: 82 - Failed in checking modem mode.
Secondary error code: 65 - Waiting command response timeout.
Device error code: 0x0 - Unknown device error code.

Preexisting images information:
        Current:
                Firmware:
                        ImageId:
                        BuildId:
                Configuration:
                        ImageId:
                        BuildId:
Final images information:
        Current:
                Firmware:
                        ImageId:
                        BuildId:
                Configuration:
                        ImageId:
                        BuildId:

OEM PRI:

IMEI:

Total time elapsed: 39328 ms.
Images downloaded:
Press Enter to continue ...
Huawei_Modem_Terminal terminal only shows:

Code: Select all

COM3 (Sierra Wireless DM Port (COM3)
COM4 (Sierra Wireless NMEA Port (COM4)
Suggestions on where I should go from here? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: WG3526 EM7565 Modem Present Not Connected

Post by JimHelms » Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:40 pm

Hmm... If that did not do it, you will most likely need to use a Linux machine to restore, or possibly a load a modem manager build on your WG3526.

See this TOPIC.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: WG3526 EM7565 Modem Present Not Connected

Post by JimHelms » Fri Feb 01, 2019 12:30 pm

Any luck with this. If not, I may have one more suggestion.

User avatar
darren.may
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2019 8:43 am

Re: WG3526 EM7565 Modem Present Not Connected

Post by darren.may » Sat Feb 02, 2019 11:13 am

No luck. I don't have a Linux machine and don't quite understand how to use ModemManager properly. Can you please share your other suggestion? Thanks.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: WG3526 EM7565 Modem Present Not Connected

Post by JimHelms » Sat Feb 02, 2019 12:01 pm

I will work something up for you.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 701
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: WG3526 EM7565 Modem Present Not Connected

Post by JimHelms » Sat Feb 02, 2019 2:42 pm

You might also read the resolution where someone else had the identical issue on the ROOter forum.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post