CBA850 1200M issue with T-Mobile

Related to Router Devices ONLY
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related issues PRIOR to posting for assistance.
Post Reply
Metatron
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:43 am

CBA850 1200M issue with T-Mobile

Post by Metatron » Wed Mar 25, 2020 11:16 am

Hello I am new to the forum, However I have read a lot on this site. Just want to say thank you to everyone who contributes there wisdom and time with us. To the question

Router: CBA850
Modem: MC400 1200M
Carrier:OTRMobile -T-Mobile reseller “previously AT&T reseller”.

Modem has good signal and shows connected. Windows 10 Network status shows internet connected. However when i open a web browser it says “your data plan does not support this device“
I spoke with Cradlepoint tech support and they said the MC400 1200M does not support T-Mobile that the MC400 1200M-B is the one that does. Well I am pretty sure the hardware is identical. Does anyone know if there is an open source firmware that will work in this modem/router, I have looked and could not find it in DD-WRT,OpenWRT, and Tomato. Also tried to flash the modem with the MC400 1200M-B firmware with no sucess. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Didneywhorl
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: Texas

Re: CBA850 1200M issue with T-Mobile

Post by Didneywhorl » Wed Mar 25, 2020 12:01 pm

From what I can tell, it looks like the 1200-B has bands 66 and 71, the 1200 does not. Tmobile uses 2,4,5,12,66,71. You should be fine. Im curious, though, what the actual modem module inside is; meaning manufacturer since Cradlepoinr isnt a modem chip maker.

For the price, Cradleloint should give you live support. That booger is pricey.
LTE noob, for sure. Learning though.

Metatron
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:43 am

Re: CBA850 1200M issue with T-Mobile

Post by Metatron » Wed Mar 25, 2020 3:29 pm

Well I looked everywhere, even searched for it on my tin foil PC “non-Telemtry” still nothing, I guess it’s classified GS-15 or something.

So I took it apart and under the thermal GAP pad, there it was a *Telit LM960*

I have decided too go with “BIX Wireless” there support stated they are one of only a handful who still have there contract with AT&T. But now i have a new hobby... Cradlepoint 😁

Didneywhorl
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: Texas

Re: CBA850 1200M issue with T-Mobile

Post by Didneywhorl » Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:09 pm

Nice! The Telit LM960 is a great unit from what Ive seen, and I believe it does support 66 and 72, but not 100% sure. No time to earnestly look
LTE noob, for sure. Learning though.

User avatar
BillA
Posts: 458
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA

Re: CBA850 1200M issue with T-Mobile

Post by BillA » Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:53 pm

Didneywhorl wrote:
Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:09 pm
Nice! The Telit LM960 is a great unit from what Ive seen, and I believe it does support 66 and 72, but not 100% sure. No time to earnestly look
"... I believe it does support 66 and 72" you mean bands 66 and 71 ;)

Metatron
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 10:43 am

Re: CBA850 1200M issue with T-Mobile

Post by Metatron » Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:31 pm

Based on LTE Category 18, the LM960 mPCIe data card achieves download rates up to 1.2 Gbps. It supports 4x4 MIMO, 5x downlink carrier aggregation and 2x uplink carrier aggregation.

Chipset: Qualcom SDX20
LTE Bands:
B1 (2100)
B3 (1800)
B7 (2600)
B8 (900)
B12 (700ac)
B13 (700c)
B14 (700PS)
B20 (800DD)
B25 (1900)
B42 (TDD 3500)
B38 (TDD 2600)
B40 (TDD 2300)
B43 (TDD 3600)
B26 (US 850 Ext)
B28 (700 APAC)
B29 (US 700de Lower)
B39 (TDD 1900)
B41 (TDD 2500)
B30 (2300 WCS)
B66 (AWS-3)
B32 (1500)
B46 (TDD 5200)
B48 (3600)
B71 (600)

TheCapesCrew
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2020 8:51 pm

Re: CBA850 1200M issue with T-Mobile

Post by TheCapesCrew » Sat Mar 28, 2020 9:03 pm

Hey, new member but long time cellular guy. So, with the issue isn't that your not getting the signal... It's that you sim isn't provisioned. That's the normal message that happens when an unactivated sim is fired up on T-Mobile. I was a long time user of OTR Mobile but with their shady business practices and now lack of support I've switched over to EvdoDepotUSA. It was crazy expensive too start up and it's more expensive per month but I had no other choice. My T-mobile sim kept going unprovisioned. Then I would have to spend hours (on average 4) hoping someone would answer their online chat... That's even IF your fast enough to get into it. It can hold only 100 people in queue at a time. At least this other company is registered with BBB. Also... Yes I just registered to post this lol.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post