SIM Issue?

Related to Router Devices ONLY
Forum rules
Use the SEARCH function for related issues PRIOR to posting for assistance.
Post Reply
Drumminglizards
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

SIM Issue?

Post by Drumminglizards » Thu Dec 24, 2020 2:39 am

Activated a Tracphone AT&T SIM, tested on iphone, data passes, calls can be made.

In my CBA850, no data passes. Connections are made, signal strength is great, but a message auto populates saying that there is no data left on the plan.

In my iPad, no data passes.

I'm stumped at where to go from here. It's clear that the SIM is activated, but it only works on my iphone. Do I need to get a different SIM from AT&T? Are the IMEI numbers categorized so that only cell IMEI's will pass data? Or am I just missing something completely obvious?

User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 1628
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 528 times
Been thanked: 295 times
Contact:

Re: SIM Issue?

Post by Didneywhorl » Thu Dec 24, 2020 10:55 am

Sounds like you have no hotspot data on that plan.

Drumminglizards
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: SIM Issue?

Post by Drumminglizards » Thu Dec 24, 2020 12:30 pm

Is there a way I can test? If proven, how may I resolve?

Surprisingly, my most trying time with this setup has been getting an appropriate SIM from AT&T that’ll work. Could I ask what your process was/is?

User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 1628
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 528 times
Been thanked: 295 times
Contact:

Re: SIM Issue?

Post by Didneywhorl » Fri Dec 25, 2020 12:02 am

Does the Tracphone plan say there is hotspot data included?

My process to get an ATT SIM that works?

Dr-BroadBand
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2020 8:52 am
Location: Texas
Has thanked: 59 times
Been thanked: 27 times

Re: SIM Issue?

Post by Dr-BroadBand » Sun Dec 27, 2020 3:15 am

AT&T Pulls Prepaid DataConnect $34.99/Month Unlimited Tablet Plan

See
https://www.rvmobileinternet.com/att-pu ... ablet-plan

Drumminglizards
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: SIM Issue?

Post by Drumminglizards » Tue Dec 29, 2020 5:55 am

Alright, let me just give the full background here.

I bought the access off an ebay reseller, I've used two different SIM's that the reseller ported over into their plan. Of course, the reseller insists that others have had no issue with a tablet/router after activating in a phone. Now, the SIM passes data on my iPhone, so I'm inclined to believe the reseller, not to mention their overwhelming positive feedback. However, if it just doesn't work the way I intended, I'll have to cancel. Before I do that, are there any suggestions I can relay over to the reseller or anything else I can try?

I appreciate the help, thank you.

Drumminglizards
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2020 2:06 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: SIM Issue?

Post by Drumminglizards » Tue Dec 29, 2020 5:56 am

Didneywhorl wrote:
Fri Dec 25, 2020 12:02 am
Does the Tracphone plan say there is hotspot data included?

My process to get an ATT SIM that works?
I just bought the tracphone SIM, no plan. Plan was ported over via an ebay reseller.

Right, if you've activated an AT&T SIM that passes data through a 4G/LTE router, how did you go about it?

User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 1628
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 528 times
Been thanked: 295 times
Contact:

Re: SIM Issue?

Post by Didneywhorl » Wed Jan 13, 2021 12:09 pm

I've only used post paid ipad plans direct from ATT.

Generally the thing is to ensure the APN is set properly and sometimes, depending on the plan, the IMEI must match that of the device registered to the plan. That is not necessary with the post paid ipad plans from ATT. At least not yet.

Post Reply