Local Tower Upgrades (Verizon)

This a discussion place for anything.
xdavidx
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Local Tower Upgrades (Verizon)

Post by xdavidx » Mon Jul 08, 2019 4:02 pm

Maybe you are close the sector boundary and it is jumping between the CID ending in 612 and the one ending in 614. Obviously, those B66 chunks are nice, but the 20 MHz B4 was nice too.

swwifty
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:21 pm
Location: NE GA Mountains

Re: Local Tower Upgrades (Verizon)

Post by swwifty » Mon Jul 08, 2019 4:16 pm

xdavidx wrote:
Mon Jul 08, 2019 4:02 pm
Maybe you are close the sector boundary and it is jumping between the CID ending in 612 and the one ending in 614. Obviously, those B66 chunks are nice, but the 20 MHz B4 was nice too.
Yeah, it might turn out that the 7455 is better.

Regardless, trying to find information on how to properly flash this in Linux is going to be fun.....

xdavidx
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Local Tower Upgrades (Verizon)

Post by xdavidx » Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:00 pm

If you want an alternative, the AirVantage over-the-air flashing is fairly risk proof. Don't even have to take it out of the router or anything.

xdavidx
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Local Tower Upgrades (Verizon)

Post by xdavidx » Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:00 pm

If you haven't re-aimed the antenna yet, maybe that's another reason it jumped CIDs. Maybe a more focused aim would change which CID it prefers.

swwifty
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:21 pm
Location: NE GA Mountains

Re: Local Tower Upgrades (Verizon)

Post by swwifty » Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:08 pm

xdavidx wrote:
Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:00 pm
If you haven't re-aimed the antenna yet, maybe that's another reason it jumped CIDs. Maybe a more focused aim would change which CID it prefers.
that status page i showed was only using the little 3dbi omnis, not my full outdoor setup.

I was testing before I swapped the modem into my outdoor nema enclosure.

Flashing in progress, hopefully will know more soon :)

xdavidx
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Local Tower Upgrades (Verizon)

Post by xdavidx » Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:15 pm

Oh, I see. That explains it. Good luck with the flashing!

swwifty
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:21 pm
Location: NE GA Mountains

Re: Local Tower Upgrades (Verizon)

Post by swwifty » Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:22 pm

Well, I got it flashed, but not sure how to select this image. You can see the last line next to "PRI" is the image i just flashed onto it.
Screen Shot 2019-07-08 at 6.21.50 PM.png
Screen Shot 2019-07-08 at 6.21.50 PM.png (31.38 KiB) Viewed 278 times

xdavidx
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:04 pm

Re: Local Tower Upgrades (Verizon)

Post by xdavidx » Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:30 pm

Careful. That looks like you have the configuration flashed, but not the true image flashed, since the ID for generic doesn't match either of the lines above for the images. Was that after a reset of the modem?

swwifty
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:21 pm
Location: NE GA Mountains

Re: Local Tower Upgrades (Verizon)

Post by swwifty » Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:33 pm

xdavidx wrote:
Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:30 pm
Careful. That looks like you have the configuration flashed, but not the true image flashed, since the ID for generic doesn't match either of the lines above for the images. Was that after a reset of the modem?
I unplugged the modem from my PI and plugged it into my Ubuntu Laptop to flash it.

It looks like it only flashed the PRI version of the firmware which is carrier specific. It doesn't look like actually did the firmware of the modem, which is odd, cause the folder I specified to find the firmware contains both. The log file seems to indicate it didn't find the .cwe file, only the .nvu file (which is used for PRI).

Not sure where to go at this point..

swwifty
Posts: 382
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:21 pm
Location: NE GA Mountains

Re: Local Tower Upgrades (Verizon)

Post by swwifty » Mon Jul 08, 2019 5:35 pm

For what it's worth I'm following these instructions/adapted to my setup: https://github.com/danielewood/sierra-w ... QMI-SDK.md

Starting at line "EM7565 from Version <01.05.01.00 (Release <9) to Latest Release (9+)"

I didn't upgraded from less than Release 9 cause I already have above that, just used those instructions to do the latest firmware and flashed it twice.

Edit: The log file does seem to show it finding the cwe file. Not sure why it didn't flash it then.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post