Mofi 4500 command for signal information

Questions and Support related to Antennas
farberm
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 6:32 am

Mofi 4500 command for signal information

Post by farberm » Sun Mar 03, 2019 7:02 am

How do I send a command on the mofi4500 to view signal data.

I tried !gstatus? In the at command diagnostic sections and it returns ‘bad address”

swwifty
Posts: 454
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:21 pm
Location: NE GA Mountains

Re: Mofi 4500 command for signal information

Post by swwifty » Sun Mar 03, 2019 7:41 am

farberm wrote:
Sun Mar 03, 2019 7:02 am
How do I send a command on the mofi4500 to view signal data.

I tried !gstatus? In the at command diagnostic sections and it returns ‘bad address”
try at!gstatus?

farberm
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 6:32 am

Re: Mofi 4500 command for signal information

Post by farberm » Sun Mar 03, 2019 8:07 am

tried that also. Same response "bad address specified?

swwifty
Posts: 454
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:21 pm
Location: NE GA Mountains

Re: Mofi 4500 command for signal information

Post by swwifty » Sun Mar 03, 2019 2:58 pm

farberm wrote:
Sun Mar 03, 2019 8:07 am
tried that also. Same response "bad address specified?
hmm, can you provide a screenshot of where you are trying to enter this? I'm not super familiar with the Mofi 4500 firmware.

farberm
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 6:32 am

Re: Mofi 4500 command for signal information

Post by farberm » Sun Mar 03, 2019 3:14 pm

Here is a screenshot
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-03-03 at 4.13.54 PM.png

swwifty
Posts: 454
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:21 pm
Location: NE GA Mountains

Re: Mofi 4500 command for signal information

Post by swwifty » Sun Mar 03, 2019 7:14 pm

what options are in that dropdown that says "Default" ?

maybe also try removing the exclamation point?

farberm
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2018 6:32 am

Re: Mofi 4500 command for signal information

Post by farberm » Sun Mar 03, 2019 7:46 pm

Default
ttyUSB0
ttyUSB1
ttyUSB2
ttyUSB3

I tried them all same response?

swwifty
Posts: 454
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:21 pm
Location: NE GA Mountains

Re: Mofi 4500 command for signal information

Post by swwifty » Sun Mar 03, 2019 8:21 pm

farberm wrote:
Sun Mar 03, 2019 7:46 pm
Default
ttyUSB0
ttyUSB1
ttyUSB2
ttyUSB3

I tried them all same response?
hmm, that's odd, the modem should be on one of those ttys.

did you try and remove the exclamation point?

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 771
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: Mofi 4500 command for signal information

Post by JimHelms » Mon Mar 04, 2019 7:46 am

Can you use putty to access the modem?

tiredoldwhisler
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2019 7:31 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Mofi 4500 command for signal information

Post by tiredoldwhisler » Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:34 pm

i've just begun my journey trying to figure out what my signal problems are, and what to do about them.

i happen to have a mofi 4500, and am using this method to execute the "hayes" commands to the modem. i believe you can get the router's webpage to specifically tell you how the modem is connected, but in truth i simply poked around until i got something.

i apologize for the messy nature of my post - i've never used a forum (if that's what this is) before; not familiar with best practices for appearances. don't know how to specify monospaced computery looking font for example.

1) login using the ssh interface rather that trying to understand the gui, or getting the diagnostics page to work. ie: putty from a pc in your network to mofi's address, default seems to be 192.168.10.1 - obviously any ssh client on any platform is fine. pc-o-centric not necessary.

2) execute this command at the shell prompt -> ls /dev/tty*

Code: Select all

root@MOFI4500:~# ls /dev/tty*
/dev/tty      /dev/ttyS0    /dev/ttyS1    /dev/ttyUSB0  /dev/ttyUSB1  /dev/ttyUSB2
... in order to list the devices. i figured my modem was likely connected to one of the usb ports, or possibly the hardwired serial ports.

3) use some installed software to connect to serial ports. the only installed program i spotted (not a linux guru) was "screen"

4) use screen to connect to each serial device until you get one that understands you

5) for example, i did this

Code: Select all

root@MOFI:~# screen /dev/ttyUSB2 9600
and then issued the AT command to the modem. when i got an "OK" response i knew i found the right port.
btw, ttyUSB2 wasn't the 1st one i tried! the others just did nothing. amazingly doing this didn't seem to interrupt the internet connection.

Code: Select all

at
OK
at!gstatus?
!GSTATUS:
Current Time:  483762           Temperature: 45
Reset Counter: 2                Mode:        ONLINE
System mode:   LTE              PS state:    Attached
LTE band:      B12              LTE bw:      5 MHz
LTE Rx chan:   5035             LTE Tx chan: 23035
LTE CA state:  ACTIVE                   LTE Scell band:B2
LTE Scell bw:15 MHz             LTE Scell chan:1125
EMM state:     Registered       Normal Service
RRC state:     RRC Connected
IMS reg state: No Srv

PCC RxM RSSI:  -82              RSRP (dBm):  -110
PCC RxD RSSI:  -80              RSRP (dBm):  -107
SCC RxM RSSI:  -94              RSRP (dBm):  -129
SCC RxD RSSI:  -94              RSRP (dBm):  -128
Tx Power:      23               TAC:         A6FF (42751)
RSRQ (dB):     -12.9            Cell ID:     006F9F15 (7315221)
SINR (dB):      6.8

-jfg
These users thanked the author tiredoldwhisler for the post:
tokenluis (Tue Aug 20, 2019 2:11 am)

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post