At Wits End....

Questions and Support related to Antennas
rramse
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 2:21 am

Re: At Wits End....

Post by rramse » Wed Nov 20, 2019 6:18 pm

Oh I know how challenging this is to get a good working setup. May I suggest before you go buying expensive cables: Take the LB1120 up into the attic and measure the signal strength without an external antenna. With the LB1120, whatever signal you get with the internal antenna is only going to be worse with fantastic external antennas like you have even with good cable. This is partly because of those terrible TS-9 connectors on the Netgear.

I have an LB1120 working as a failover modem connected to a different cell tower than my main modem. I tried several different outdoor antennas that were just too noisy to get a fast speed and I'm just 1.5 miles away. I finally found a spot inside my single story house where the signal was penetrating between obstacles. The only antenna that provided marginal improvement for this modem was a cheap H-planar modified by shortening the leads.

At over 5 miles, an indoor antenna won't work, but you might need to get a different modem also.
Attachments
LB1120.png

chrissezhi
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 6:52 pm

Re: At Wits End....

Post by chrissezhi » Thu Nov 21, 2019 8:42 pm

Thank you for your responses. So I tried different cables - and as you can see from the screenshot it made a difference. Now the question is - is my ISP throttling me? Speed Test - https://speedof.me/show.php?img=191122023029-6208.png

Also - if the Netgear could be the issue - I am plugged directly into it - gigabit - what router would you guys recommend.

Note - as I was typing this - my bars dropped down to 1 and were at four .. what gives? It also looks like it changed towers.

With all that said - could it be still cables? hardware ….

Before:
before.png
before.png (22.01 KiB) Viewed 440 times
After:

before.png
before.png (22.01 KiB) Viewed 440 times
Attachments
After.png
After.png (18.69 KiB) Viewed 440 times

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 904
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: At Wits End....

Post by JimHelms » Fri Nov 22, 2019 7:20 am

Not sure what could have caused the sudden change in signals.

Could still be cabling/connectors and/or possibly one of the TS-9 connector ports on the hotspot is bad or not making a good connection when the hotspot warms up.

Again, there is the remote possibility it could be tower related (i.e., updating hardware/software).

User avatar
terryjett
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 10:42 pm
Location: West Tawakoni

Re: At Wits End....

Post by terryjett » Fri Nov 22, 2019 10:14 am

chrissezhi wrote:
Thu Nov 21, 2019 8:42 pm
Also - if the Netgear could be the issue - I am plugged directly into it - gigabit - what router would you guys recommend.

Note - as I was typing this - my bars dropped down to 1 and were at four .. what gives? It also looks like it changed towers.

With all that said - could it be still cables? hardware ….
I have been helping with a project to setup low income (rural) families with 4G internet. Most all of the devices in homes are similar to your netgear and have ts-9 connections. Most all have issues with signal levels and what you just experienced - tower swapping. They do not use t-mobile though (at&t).

One trick I saw in field was using rubber bands (very sloppy solution - but did seem to help) wrapped around the ts-9 fittings and then around the hotspot to keep connectors set. Very poor solution.

Devices like your netgear were never really intended as "permanent" hotspots. They were designed for travel and occasional use devices. The ts-9 connectors (in my view) are a very sloppy design and meant for temporary connections. In my past experience, would only describe ts-9 as a "test port".

If you are going to use for dedicated internet, would go with a more permanent setup. A very good source of information is viewtopic.php?f=37&t=123

I have a WE826, Sierra Wireless EM7455 on AT&T and very happy. I then reused my old Linksys router as repeater for WE826. All devices to use the Linksys as connection. Great inexpensive way to get started.

User avatar
AntennaRaul
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 9:03 pm
Location: Miami FL
Contact:

Re: At Wits End....

Post by AntennaRaul » Mon Dec 02, 2019 6:15 pm

I once purchased several different TS9 to SMA adapters on ebay and Amazon. Checking in the lab I found all had strange losses and SWR spikes. Some made with RG-316 were less bad. I trust the SMA end so I think the TS-9 side is usually the problem. It is small and must be very precisely made and installed to hold 50 Ohms within it. Now Im going to design my own TS-9 and have it produced to avoid the junk.
Seeing the first posting on this thread, I didnt see what the new antennas were comparing too, I did see a reply about cable losses negating the antenna size and placement improvement, fully agree. However, did you know the roof material and angle cut of the signal can eat a lot of signal? Not so much at 600 Mhz but it just gets real bad going upwards from there. If the roofing nails happen to resonate at your frequency, its even worse. Just wanted to put in my 2 cents worth.

chrissezhi
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 6:52 pm

Re: At Wits End....

Post by chrissezhi » Sat Dec 07, 2019 12:52 pm

Thanks to all for replies … so I have a Mofi4500 4GxeLTE V2 Router but am having troubles with SIM clicking - hence the reason I am not using and was looking at other alternatives. The Sierra card in there now is a MC7455. What case do you think I would need to get up and running? If it helps, I am looking to let the router be a IP Pass Through.

User avatar
terryjett
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 10:42 pm
Location: West Tawakoni

Re: At Wits End....

Post by terryjett » Mon Dec 09, 2019 1:45 pm

chrissezhi wrote:
Sat Dec 07, 2019 12:52 pm
Thanks to all for replies … so I have a Mofi4500 4GxeLTE V2 Router but am having troubles with SIM clicking - hence the reason I am not using and was looking at other alternatives. The Sierra card in there now is a MC7455. What case do you think I would need to get up and running? If it helps, I am looking to let the router be a IP Pass Through.
Not sure I understand "having troubles with SIM clicking", but not all that familiar with the Mofi4500 4GxeLTE V2 Router.

It all depends on how much you wish to invest in a "case".

Not sure what is going on with this router @ LTEFix, but would recommend for someone just needing to get going with solid equipment: https://ltefix.com/shop/routers/lte-rou ... te-router/ (ping LTEFix support and ask).

Check out @swwifty's setup: http://ltehacks.com/viewtopic.php?f=37& ... 8b76ae59a6

There are so many different options, but it comes down to how much you want to invest.

Post Reply