DMZ - Alternative to Bridging a Router

How To Tutorials related to Routers and Firmware
swwifty
Posts: 550
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:21 pm
Location: NE GA Mountains

Re: DMZ - Alternative to Bridging a Router

Post by swwifty » Tue Jun 18, 2019 9:32 am

RussWestrem wrote:
Tue Jul 17, 2018 5:19 pm
Openwrt actually bridges interfaces just fine, it's the rooter scripts that stops the bridge from working. Rooter is just not set up for this feature. If you want a true bridge just dont use rooter. Install your drivers and packages you need to run the modem then just bridge the lan and wan and it's pretty much done.
Do you happen to have a tutorial on how to do this? I'm having trouble finding instructions on this. I'd really like to get rid of my silly double NAT as I use pFsense for my main firewall.

Need4Speed
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2019 12:47 pm

Re: DMZ - Alternative to Bridging a Router

Post by Need4Speed » Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:06 pm

I was successful using this tutorial hooking up my wg3526 on GoldenOrb_2019-03-10 to my other (asus) router. Tried reversing the process but got locked out of my wg3526. So after recovering firmware and getting reconfigured I seen that DHCP server in goldenorb starts at 100 so nothing needs to be done on wg3526. In my asus, I changed the LAN IP to 192.168.1.2 (that will be my new login for asus now) since it was the same as the wg3526. I then turned the dhcp off on the asus and set the ip starting to 192.168.1.20. Not that the ip starting should matter since the wg3526's dhcp should be handling the ip assignments.

Applied all settings and was up and running. Now i can access the wg3526 directly through my asus via ethernet and still have the wg3526's wifi capabilities.

User avatar
BillA
Posts: 668
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: DMZ - Alternative to Bridging a Router

Post by BillA » Sat May 09, 2020 6:44 pm

Need4Speed wrote:
Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:06 pm
I was successful using this tutorial hooking up my wg3526 on GoldenOrb_2019-03-10 to my other (asus) router. Tried reversing the process but got locked out of my wg3526. So after recovering firmware and getting reconfigured I seen that DHCP server in goldenorb starts at 100 so nothing needs to be done on wg3526. In my asus, I changed the LAN IP to 192.168.1.2 (that will be my new login for asus now) since it was the same as the wg3526. I then turned the dhcp off on the asus and set the ip starting to 192.168.1.20. Not that the ip starting should matter since the wg3526's dhcp should be handling the ip assignments.

Applied all settings and was up and running. Now i can access the wg3526 directly through my asus via ethernet and still have the wg3526's wifi capabilities.

Right, but your setup does the opposite what others wanted, using the modem/router in pass-through mode. In your case you're still using the WG3526's DHCP to assign IP's while the Asus acts as a dummy router/hub,

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post