EM7511 -> MC400-600M-C-AT

Sierra Wireless AirPrime Modem Card Topics
calimansi
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 10:24 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

EM7511 -> MC400-600M-C-AT

Post by calimansi » Sat Sep 05, 2020 10:29 am

Hello.

So, I currently have (2) EM7511's and (2) CBA850's. They all work perfectly with each other.

The CBA850 is not completely able to control the EM7511 because it's not a MC400-600M-C-AT. Do you guys know of a way to convert an EM7511 to an MC400-600M-C-AT?

Can someone post at!usbinfo? of a MC400-600M-C-AT?

Thank you.

Yipzy
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:06 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 82 times

Re: EM7511 -> MC400-600M-C-AT

Post by Yipzy » Sat Sep 05, 2020 5:12 pm

calimansi wrote:
Sat Sep 05, 2020 10:29 am
Can someone post at!usbinfo? of a MC400-600M-C-AT?
MC7455 is MC7455-CP so try EM7511-CP?

calimansi
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 10:24 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: EM7511 -> MC400-600M-C-AT

Post by calimansi » Tue Sep 08, 2020 2:11 pm

EM7511-CP did not work.

Anyone have a MC400-600M that's willing to share?

Yipzy
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:06 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 82 times

Re: EM7511 -> MC400-600M-C-AT

Post by Yipzy » Tue Sep 08, 2020 4:01 pm

calimansi wrote:
Tue Sep 08, 2020 2:11 pm
EM7511-CP did not work.

Anyone have a MC400-600M that's willing to share?
I haven't seen anyone mentioned this. Most people just swap their MC7455 with EM7565 & EM7511 like you. Have you asked on facebook group?

calimansi
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 10:24 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: EM7511 -> MC400-600M-C-AT

Post by calimansi » Tue Sep 08, 2020 4:17 pm

I did. No one responded. It's not that big of a deal... would be kind of cool just to have the cba850 manage the modem a little more (firmware upgrades), etc.

User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 2293
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 807 times
Been thanked: 478 times
Contact:

Re: EM7511 -> MC400-600M-C-AT

Post by Didneywhorl » Thu Sep 10, 2020 9:16 pm

Look up Ryan Roosa on the Facebook group, I believe he posted a tutorial on how to get the non cradlepoint modems to be seen by the router as a cradlepoint. Its a simple AT command you use to change the PID and VID I believe.

calimansi
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 10:24 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: EM7511 -> MC400-600M-C-AT

Post by calimansi » Sat Sep 12, 2020 10:19 pm

I was able to get the EM7511 to work with the cba. Yes, I needed to change the VID and get it into QMI mode, then it worked perfectly.

What I want is to get the EM7511 to identify as a MC400-600M-C-AT. I believe I need to change the product id to match what's in a real MC400-600M-C-AT. This way, the cba850 will handle all the firmware upgrades, etc.

If it won't work, then that's ok since I can still get super stable and fast internet with this combo... just not the easy to configure part through the cradlepoint ui.

User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 2293
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 807 times
Been thanked: 478 times
Contact:

Re: EM7511 -> MC400-600M-C-AT

Post by Didneywhorl » Sat Sep 12, 2020 11:29 pm

I found a tutorial from someone on the facebook group. It may help you... https://drive.google.com/file/d/15Pf1iU ... sp=sharing

jgsieve
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2020 2:24 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: EM7511 -> MC400-600M-C-AT

Post by jgsieve » Sat Dec 12, 2020 2:29 pm

calimansi wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 2020 10:19 pm
I was able to get the EM7511 to work with the cba. Yes, I needed to change the VID and get it into QMI mode, then it worked perfectly.

What I want is to get the EM7511 to identify as a MC400-600M-C-AT. I believe I need to change the product id to match what's in a real MC400-600M-C-AT. This way, the cba850 will handle all the firmware upgrades, etc.

If it won't work, then that's ok since I can still get super stable and fast internet with this combo... just not the easy to configure part through the cradlepoint ui.
What did you have to do to get the em7511 to work? The thing keeps getting recognized as a 3g device and fails speed tests for me, it shows as a ppp interface in the internet status info page.

As for the question will it show up in cradlepoint, information is scarce, and although I see someone mention it’s a cat12 Sierra em7511, I am unsure that’s the case. If you want to update the modem, use airvantage firmware OTA, Sierra is slow to get firmware out, and they quit providing updates on older modems as they age, like the mc7455/lp6. I get great speeds with sprint on the em7511, but only when in mbim on Windows. Any help would be appreciated. I’m running the latest generic firmware and have tried about every combination of usb comp. I have not tried to change the vid/pid. thanks

calimansi
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2020 10:24 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: EM7511 -> MC400-600M-C-AT

Post by calimansi » Mon Feb 01, 2021 5:25 pm

I think it needs to be in QMI mode to work with the cradlepoint.

Post Reply