Sierra Wireless MC7455 | EM7455 -- AT! Command Guide

How to tutorials for modems, hotspots, dongles
morgan.neely
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 11:44 am

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7455 | EM7455 -- AT! Command Guide

Post by morgan.neely » Wed Sep 11, 2019 5:53 pm

I've installed the EM7455 modem, and updated to GoldenOrb on the We826-T2, and I'm using Windows 10, so I downloaded the newest USB drivers "AirPrime GenericDriverSetup_4836", which I had to sign in to Sierrawireless.com for, and also downloaded the AT&T Generic Firmware for MC7455, and the Huawei terminal app, now I'm trying to input some AT commands onto the router using a Male A USB cable to Male A USB for locking onto band 2 of AT@T, which is way better here, than band 12. My question is that my PC never recognizes the WE826-T2 from the USB to USB connection, so am I using the wrong kind of cable or something, or maybe downloaded the wrong items, because some of the links have changed, and it may be because of the whole war on Huawei thing, but I would really like to set this router for only band 2, to save from having to buy another Mofi 4500 Sim4 V2.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 739
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7455 | EM7455 -- AT! Command Guide

Post by JimHelms » Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:44 pm

To update the modem firmware, you will need to install the modem in a USB to M.2 adapter (for the EM7455) or a USB to Mini PCI-E adapter (for the MC7455). Then, plug it into the Windows machine and then flash the modem's firmware.

thejohnfist
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 6:59 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7455 | EM7455 -- AT! Command Guide

Post by thejohnfist » Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:29 pm

Is there a way to issue commands to it like these via the browser? I need to exclude band 30, causing me lots of latency issues.

Catfish
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 4:19 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7455 | EM7455 -- AT! Command Guide

Post by Catfish » Sun Sep 15, 2019 8:55 am

Newbie here trying to absorb all of this. I apologize for the long post. Recent purchase of Cradlepoint CBA850LP6 which has the MC7455 inside. I live in a rural area but do have AT&T dsl. Top speed on the dsl is 6.0 mbps down. Purchased the Cradlepoint and an AT&T iPad plan as a solution to get faster speeds. I have read through this tutorial as well as the tutorial on the Cradlepoint.

When first setting up the Cradlepoint with the included attached antennas I was surprised to get an excellent signal (4 bars)from the AT&T tower 3 milesaway Speeds were not much better than my dsl. Reading through this tread I have been able to figure out some of the AT! Commands. Some of the commands don’t seem to work. Such as AT!band? or AT!band=? I get no response from the modem. I did enter some of AT&T commands from page 3 of this thread:

AT!entercnd=“A710”
AT!band=10,”B2”,0,0000000000000002
AT!band=12,”B4”,0,0000000000000008
AT!reset

Upon entering those I essentially doubled my speeds to around 12-15 mbps down most of the time although it occasionally drops back to 7-8 mbps. Up speeds are around 1.5-2 mbps.

With all that said if I enter all the “Commands for AT&T” listed on page 3 in this thread will I increase my speeds further or do I need to do something else?

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 739
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7455 | EM7455 -- AT! Command Guide

Post by JimHelms » Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:20 am

You have correctly defined and assigned Band 2 and Band 4.

Now, if you want to use those two bands for connection, you must create a group band (i.e., "0F") consisting of those two bands. Then, lock the modem to use that "0F" group:

Code: Select all

AT!entercnd=“A710”
AT!BAND=10,"B2",0,0000000000000002
AT!BAND=11,"B4",0,0000000000000008
AT!BAND=0F,"ATT 2&4",0,000000000000000A
AT!BAND=0F
AT!RESET
Next, the WAN Interface Profile in the Connection Manager for the MC400LP6, must also contain the AT Config Script:

Code: Select all

AT!BAND=0F

Catfish
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 4:19 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7455 | EM7455 -- AT! Command Guide

Post by Catfish » Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:15 pm

Thanks Jim! Am I limited to 2 bands that can run (aggregate)at the same time or can I define and assign 3 or more bands?

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 739
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7455 | EM7455 -- AT! Command Guide

Post by JimHelms » Sun Sep 15, 2019 4:49 pm

Catfish wrote:
Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:15 pm
Thanks Jim! Am I limited to 2 bands that can run (aggregate)at the same time or can I define and assign 3 or more bands?
You can create a group of three or more bands but the MC400LP6 will only aggregate two of them.

The practice of locking bands is best used to eliminate a particular band whose performance (when the modem is connected to that band) is less than desired (perhaps due to tower congestion on that band).

Catfish
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2019 4:19 pm

Re: Sierra Wireless MC7455 | EM7455 -- AT! Command Guide

Post by Catfish » Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:31 pm

Got it! Thank you!

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post