Sierra Wireless Modems - Programming Carrier Bands

How to tutorials for modems, hotspots, dongles
LTE7B
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 2:47 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0

Re: Sierra Wireless Modems - Programming Carrier Bands

Post by LTE7B » Sat Feb 29, 2020 3:43 pm

Can anyone tell me what AT! command would tell me what Bands my Sierra modem is detecting? Not which bands it's capable of, but which bands are available/ detectable from my tower. Thanks!

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 1290
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 150 times
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless Modems - Programming Carrier Bands

Post by JimHelms » Sun Mar 01, 2020 9:08 am

To my knowledge, the Sierra Wireless modem will not tell what bands are available on a certain tower, only want bands the modem is capable of receiving, and what bands it is currently using for its connection.

User avatar
BillA
Posts: 929
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 154 times
Been thanked: 201 times
Contact:

Re: Sierra Wireless Modems - Programming Carrier Bands

Post by BillA » Sun Mar 01, 2020 10:02 am

LTE7B wrote:
Sat Feb 29, 2020 3:43 pm
Can anyone tell me what AT! command would tell me what Bands my Sierra modem is detecting? Not which bands it's capable of, but which bands are available/ detectable from my tower. Thanks!

In order to find out all the usable bands in your particular area, you could lock the modem to each band one by one, do an AT!GSTATUS? status after each new lock, and look at the RSSI/RSRP signal.
If it's around -100db AND you can access the internet in a browser, then write it down as one of the usable bands.

These are all the possible bands you can try for each model:
MC7455
B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B12, B13, B17, B20, B25, B26, B29, B30, B41

EM7511
B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B9, B12, B13, B14, B18, B19, B20, B26, B29, B30, B32, B41, B42, B43, B46, B48, B66

EM7565
B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B7, B8, B9, B12, B13, B18, B19, B20, B26, B28, B29, B30, B32, B41, B42, B43, B46, B48, B66

If you don't want to try all bands, then at least try these carrier specific ones:
"*" = main bands
ATT = *2, 4, 5, 12, 14, 17, 29, 30, 46, 66
TMO = 2, *4, 5, 12, 46, 66, 71
VZW = 2, 4, 5, *13, 66
SPR = *25, 26, 41

djt2020
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:35 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Sierra Wireless Modems - Programming Carrier Bands

Post by djt2020 » Mon Jun 29, 2020 6:29 pm

I tried the spread sheet on my MR1100. I probably used the wrong command and for a minute I thought i'd made it bran dead. I did a hard reset, but it did not respond normally however it did come back on and was reset.

I put these three commands in one at a to. It accepted them with OK. I wanted to combine 2&12 and 2,12&66. Plus add 66 seperatley.
AT!BAND=0F,"ATT 2,12",0,3000080E
AT!BAND=0F,"ATT 2,12,66",0,3000080E
AT!BAND=0C,"B66",0,0,2

I have successfully used these commands for 2 and 12.

AT!BAND=02,"LTE B2 (1900 MHz PCS)", 0, 2
AT!BAND=04,"LTE B12 (700 MHz Lower B/C/A)", 0, 800

I input the bands I wanted into cell B-15 and copied the command from C-14.
The input was T,2,12 and T2,12,66

When I did these commands the others had successfully added were already in place.
I've been having connection issues with the AT&T tower and I thought this might help. The spread sheet is amazing as long as you use it correctly. :)

djt2020
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 3:35 pm
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Sierra Wireless Modems - Programming Carrier Bands

Post by djt2020 » Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:06 pm

I just tried this single (AT!BAND=10,"B2",0,2)command after the reset so there were no command inputs before this.
I'm using Putty to upload commands. After this command I rebooted and what come up in the browser is the top portion of the login screen, nothing else. The screen on the MR1100 is blank. I had to reset again. My model is 2A1NAS. The spreadsheet has this model on it.

zac2424
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2020 9:56 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Sierra Wireless Modems - Programming Carrier Bands

Post by zac2424 » Wed Nov 18, 2020 11:47 pm

Not sure if this is possible... but my best bands are B2, B13, and B66. B2 gets great speeds be only gets picked up if I bandlock to it specifically. B66 gives me 2 in CA, one at 20mhz and 5mhz (i think there is a tower a few miles back from the good B66 tower). Can i limit to only the good B66 band and let B2 take that 3rd CA slot? This is an EM7565/WG1608 combo.

at!gstatus?
!GSTATUS:
Current Time: 770 Temperature: 39
Reset Counter: 15 Mode: ONLINE
System mode: LTE PS state: Attached
LTE band: B66 LTE bw: 15 MHz
LTE Rx chan: 0 LTE Tx chan: 132347
LTE SSC1 state:INACTIVE LTE SSC1 band: B13
LTE SSC1 bw : 10 MHz LTE SSC1 chan: 5230
LTE SSC2 state:INACTIVE LTE SSC2 band: B66
LTE SSC2 bw : 5 MHz LTE SSC2 chan: 0
LTE SSC3 state:NOT ASSIGNED
LTE SSC4 state:NOT ASSIGNED
EMM state: Registered Normal Service
RRC state: RRC Connected
IMS reg state: No Srv IMS mode: Normal

PCC RxM RSSI: -73 PCC RxM RSRP: -99
PCC RxD RSSI: -69 PCC RxD RSRP: -95
SCC1 RxM RSSI: -50 SCC1 RxM RSRP: -71
SCC1 RxD RSSI: -52 SCC1 RxD RSRP: -72
SCC2 RxM RSSI: -62 SCC2 RxM RSRP: -84
SCC2 RxD RSSI: -58 SCC2 RxD RSRP: -83
Tx Power: -- TAC: da17 (55831)
RSRQ (dB): -7.6 Cell ID: 0354f317 (55898903)
SINR (dB): 17.2


OK

Post Reply