WE826-T2 with MC7455 Carrier Aggregation

Related to Modems, Hotspots, Dongles ONLY
Post Reply
gscheb
Posts: 646
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:37 am
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 110 times

WE826-T2 with MC7455 Carrier Aggregation

Post by gscheb » Sat Oct 19, 2019 12:38 pm

Hello all,
Working on a new set up with AT&T and can get bands 12, 2, 4.
Band 12 has 5mhz
Band 2 has 10mhz
Band 4 has 20mhz.

When I set it to all bands it connects to band 12 and has carrier aggregation to 2 or 4.
Of course band 12 is slower. So set up a Band selection to only include bands 2 and 4.
Works pretty well now getting consistent speeds around 20mbps.

The issues is it won't know do carrier aggregation?
It jumps back and fourth from band 2 or band 4.
But it won't wont do carrier aggregation on this?
Does anyone know why?
Thanks,

Code: Select all

AT!GSTATUS?
!GSTATUS: 
Current Time:  3202		Temperature: 43
Reset Counter: 9		Mode:        ONLINE         
System mode:   LTE        	PS state:    Attached     
LTE band:      B2     		LTE bw:      10 MHz  
LTE Rx chan:   1050		LTE Tx chan: 19050
LTE CA state:  NOT ASSIGNED
EMM state:     Registered     	Normal Service 
RRC state:     RRC Connected  
IMS reg state: No Srv  		

PCC RxM RSSI:  -80		RSRP (dBm):  -117
PCC RxD RSSI:  -92		       RSRP (dBm):  -125
Tx Power:      22		      TAC:         4E0A (19978)
RSRQ (dB):     -18.4	      Cell ID:     02E95708 (48846600)
SINR (dB):      6.2

swwifty
Posts: 568
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:21 pm
Location: NE GA Mountains
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: WE826-T2 with MC7455 Carrier Aggregation

Post by swwifty » Sat Oct 19, 2019 8:12 pm

That is a bit odd. I had this issue with Band 4 and Band 66 (used by Verizon) having the same bitmask when I created the special band lock, so it thought it was the same.

Are you sure you created band lock that allows both, or is possible it sees band 2 and 4 as the same band so it won't do CA?

gscheb
Posts: 646
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:37 am
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 110 times

Re: WE826-T2 with MC7455 Carrier Aggregation

Post by gscheb » Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:54 am

Not sure what you mean by does it see them as same band? Think they might be on similar frequency.
This is my first custom build with the golden orb. In the past used mofi, netgear lb1120 and nighthawk m1 at my own house. Honestly like the the nighthawk and lb1120 but couldn't keep them going to slower bands at times. Then switched to mofi for bamd selection.
Now trying the custom build to be more cost effective. This setup for my parents house. Just a background of why I am doing it.

I set up the band lock using this tuturial=
Sierra Wireless Modems - Programming Carrier Bands. Written by Jim Helms.
Using the spread sheet to make a band selection of band 2 and 4. And it will go back and fourth between 2 and 4 when I watch it.
Just curious to why it not doing the carrier aggregation. Trying to learn more.
To be honest the 20 mbps is suitable for my parents needs. Way better then the only other service they can get. Fixed wireless at about 2 mbps most of the time. But at the end of the day if can get the carrier aggregation it would be more like 35 mbps guessing. We all want faster. More more more.
Thanks for any help.

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 1286
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Has thanked: 76 times
Been thanked: 148 times
Contact:

Re: WE826-T2 with MC7455 Carrier Aggregation

Post by JimHelms » Sun Oct 20, 2019 11:15 am

For one, your signals and strength are affecting your performance.

The RxM (which is the MAIN port on the modem) of -117 is borderline usable while the RxD RSRP (which is the AUX [diversity] port on the modem) of -125 dBm is not usable.

Likewise, the RSQP of -18.4 is far under the acceptable threshold.

Compare your signal stats to this cheat sheet:


Amtenna Stats Explained.png


As for locking bands, there are times when various bands are used solely as the primary and secondary bands.

If you wanted to exclude AT&T Band 12 from the mix, I would try setting up a group of bands that use Bands 2,4,5,30:

Code: Select all

AT!BAND=12,"ATT 2,4,5,30",0,21A
And then lock to that group.

Code: Select all

AT!BAND=12

gscheb
Posts: 646
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:37 am
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 110 times

Re: WE826-T2 with MC7455 Carrier Aggregation

Post by gscheb » Mon Oct 21, 2019 6:51 am

Thank you for helping me understand my signals and strengths.
Honestly not to shocked, set up is currently jerry-rigged with a proxicast mimo antenna, on top of a antenna tower, pointed at a tower 5.16 miles away, then adapter to go to some RG6 75ohm cable type wire. Then also has one 2 of those flat window wire connections like the cable company uses since there is currently no hole drilled into the house. Know this has to be causing some signal impedance. Didn't understand it was quite that bad though.
Here is the the available bands I have according to cell mapper. Honestly don't know any other way to check for bands available.
AT&T Versailles Tower.PNG
AT&T Versailles Tower.PNG (7.1 KiB) Viewed 3494 times
Noticed when I look at the custom band chart not all the bands listed are compatible I guess with the MC7455.
Did over look that band 30 could be included.
AT&T Chart.PNG

bjames
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:02 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: WE826-T2 with MC7455 Carrier Aggregation

Post by bjames » Tue Oct 22, 2019 5:43 am

Looks like you need clean up your system with a good set of antennas and 50 ohm low loss cables instead of 75 ohm.

swwifty
Posts: 568
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:21 pm
Location: NE GA Mountains
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 61 times

Re: WE826-T2 with MC7455 Carrier Aggregation

Post by swwifty » Tue Oct 22, 2019 3:33 pm

bjames wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 5:43 am
Looks like you need clean up your system with a good set of antennas and 50 ohm low loss cables instead of 75 ohm.
Good catch on the 75 ohm cable. I'd recommend getting some LMR400.

The MIMO proxicast antenna should be decent for a 5 mile shot, it's more than likely you are losing a lot of signal strength in that cable at these high frequencies.

Post Reply