Disconnected and just stopped working

Related to Modems, Hotspots, Dongles ONLY
Post Reply
Serpwidgets
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 5:46 pm

Disconnected and just stopped working

Post by Serpwidgets » Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:09 pm

Ok, I was trying out my setup, I have a yagi antenna outside and a 7455 modem in an 826 router, connected via ethernet to my laptop. I hooked everything up, and uploaded about 1.3gigabytes at 10mbps while adjusting the antenna to find the best signal I could get. Just after the upload finished, the modem disconnected from the internet and would not reconnect. I tried cycling the power, in the misc there's a "connect" button and it just doesn't even act like it's trying. Nothing seems to happen. I put the sim back into the ZTE hotspot and it works fine, so something freaked out with the modem. Any ideas?

swwifty
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:21 pm
Location: NE GA Mountains

Re: Disconnected and just stopped working

Post by swwifty » Mon Nov 26, 2018 3:35 pm

I'd suggest looking at this post: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=14

Serpwidgets
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: Disconnected and just stopped working

Post by Serpwidgets » Mon Nov 26, 2018 6:31 pm

Went through the whole reset. It didn't help. Still no sign at all that it is even attempting to connect and I can't find any way to get it to tell me what is happening, whether it's attempting, or some sort of result code.

My signal strengths are all within reasonable values, although I notice that the Tx Power = 0 (I don't know if that's because it's disconnected) and also EMM State says "Deregistered Attach Needed"

User avatar
JimHelms
Site Admin
Posts: 287
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:59 pm
Location: DFW Texas
Contact:

Re: Disconnected and just stopped working

Post by JimHelms » Mon Nov 26, 2018 6:51 pm

Try putting the SIM back in the ZTE and update the user profile and PRL. Some have even suggested you need to wait 24 hours before putting the SIM back in the modem after being deregistered from the network.

Serpwidgets
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 5:46 pm

Re: Disconnected and just stopped working

Post by Serpwidgets » Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:12 am

Ok so "deregistered" is something that was done by the tower and not something wrong with my setup? (I tried googling that and various settings and couldn't find what it meant.)

Is there anything in particular that causes this, anything I need to be doing or not doing to avoid getting deregistered?

Post Reply