New ZBT WG1608 5G-ready router + GoldenOrb firmware

Topics related to Routers
User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 1803
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 597 times
Been thanked: 349 times
Contact:

Re: New ZBT WG1608 5G-ready router + GoldenOrb firmware

Post by Didneywhorl » Fri Dec 04, 2020 9:36 pm

Viper67857 wrote:
Fri Dec 04, 2020 8:32 am
There's apparently a 12/02 goldenorb up now... Anyone done any analysis on the differences? Changelogs sure would be nice, but with all the routers they're supporting I suppose that would be far too much to ask.
I think it was just an attempt to get the 5Ghz Wifi working. The changelogs are via following the whirlpool forums where the devs converse about all things goldenorb/rooter.

https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/thread/ ... =-1#bottom

ratledge
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 9:30 pm
Location: Awendaw / Charleston SC
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: New ZBT WG1608 5G-ready router + GoldenOrb firmware

Post by ratledge » Sat Dec 05, 2020 5:09 pm

Viper67857 wrote:
Fri Dec 04, 2020 8:32 am
There's apparently a 12/02 goldenorb up now... Anyone done any analysis on the differences? Changelogs sure would be nice, but with all the routers they're supporting I suppose that would be far too much to ask.
Works perfectly for the WG3526 but still no 5Ghz radio for WG1608 - so, far. I have both.

User avatar
BillA
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 253 times
Contact:

Re: New ZBT WG1608 5G-ready router + GoldenOrb firmware

Post by BillA » Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:51 pm

I would flash the latest WG1608-GO2020-12-02.zip via the bootloader method (viewtopic.php?p=6007#p6007) and do a full factory reset right after (System > Backup / Flash Firmware > PERFORM RESET), then check if both WiFi bands work. It can be quite finicky, sometimes it takes a couple flashes back to back then a reset. You can always flash it back with an older firmware should you need to.

https://www.ofmodemsandmen.com/upload/W ... -12-02.zip

ratledge
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 9:30 pm
Location: Awendaw / Charleston SC
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: New ZBT WG1608 5G-ready router + GoldenOrb firmware

Post by ratledge » Tue Dec 08, 2020 9:23 am

BillA wrote:
Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:51 pm
I would flash the latest WG1608-GO2020-12-02.zip via the bootloader method (viewtopic.php?p=6007#p6007) and do a full factory reset right after (System > Backup / Flash Firmware > PERFORM RESET),
...

https://www.ofmodemsandmen.com/upload/W ... -12-02.zip
I grabbed the latest version - shown above - and was running it on the 2nd right after Dairyman posted it. He is still working on the 5Ghz (MT7663) radio support.

No amount of gyrations gets it going - yet... I did flash it from inside the factory (Chinese only) EEPROM routines.

Looks promising, someone came up with the code from Zhibotong ("ZBT"), so I am sure he is closer.

"Soon come" as we like to say.

punkguy00017
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 1:45 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: New ZBT WG1608 5G-ready router + GoldenOrb firmware

Post by punkguy00017 » Sat Dec 12, 2020 7:11 am

Im having an issue with my ZBT 1608 with an EM20-g. When I'm downloading after a few minutes of download, the router looses connection and resets . After it resets , it locks on to band 17. I have it locked to band 12 with ca on band 2 and 66. I never had this issue when I had it installed in a ZBT 3526 so I know the modem is fine. You think it's a firmware issue?

User avatar
BillA
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 253 times
Contact:

Re: New ZBT WG1608 5G-ready router + GoldenOrb firmware

Post by BillA » Sat Dec 12, 2020 12:52 pm

punkguy00017 wrote:
Sat Dec 12, 2020 7:11 am
Im having an issue with my ZBT 1608 with an EM20-g. When I'm downloading after a few minutes of download, the router looses connection and resets . After it resets , it locks on to band 17. I have it locked to band 12 with ca on band 2 and 66. I never had this issue when I had it installed in a ZBT 3526 so I know the modem is fine. You think it's a firmware issue?

Loosing connection may have something to with this the router's firmware which is still a bit experimental being a fairly new device, or it may be a lack of signal at your location. As far as band locking, it has nothing to do with the router, which is strictly a function of the modem. Also, you have no control over which bands are used for CA other than locking it to two or more bands (better yet leave it on auto-scan), thereafter it's strictly under the carrier's control.

Another possibility for the different CA behavior in different routers using the same modem, could be attributed to the different antenna/RF characteristics including the placement of the routers even by few inches off, which could cause variations in the received signal. I would take a look at the different signal strength/quality in the routers being tested.

It has been reported that setting the modem to ECM mode helps with random disconnects, but you're running the risk of locking yourself out from the modem (can be restored via SSH commands or reflashing the modem).
I would try QMI mode first, then MBIM, and finally ECM (just beware of this mode) by sending these AT-commands:

QMI mode

Code: Select all

AT+QCFG="usbnet",0
MBIM mode

Code: Select all

AT+QCFG="usbnet",2
ECM mode

Code: Select all

AT+QCFG="usbnet",1

punkguy00017
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 1:45 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: New ZBT WG1608 5G-ready router + GoldenOrb firmware

Post by punkguy00017 » Sat Dec 12, 2020 3:27 pm

Ok thank you. I guess I'll just keep waiting for new firmware to come out. Also thanks for the indepth info.

User avatar
BillA
Posts: 1028
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 173 times
Been thanked: 253 times
Contact:

Re: New ZBT WG1608 5G-ready router + GoldenOrb firmware

Post by BillA » Sun Dec 13, 2020 2:28 am

punkguy00017 wrote:
Sat Dec 12, 2020 3:27 pm
Ok thank you. I guess I'll just keep waiting for new firmware to come out. Also thanks for the indepth info.

Another possibility for the different CA behavior in different routers using the same modem, could be attributed to the different antenna/RF characteristics including the placement of the routers even by few inches off, which could cause variations in the received signal. I would take a look at the different signal strength/quality in the router's Modem > Network Status. The devil is in the details ;D


Here's my speed test using a 5G Simcom SIM8200"EA"-M2 modem (NOT the SIM8200"G"-M2 model which doesn't work well on 5G due to missing some NSA bands) in a WG1608 router and Tmobile/SimpleMobile service. I ran this test at 3am in the morning with no congestion, about half a mile away from the tower in a line of sight with full signal strength. Note, the <1ms ping is incorrect (it's between 10-20ms), but the IP address is from Tmobile/SimpleMobile.
Bing Speed Test > https://www.bing.com/widget/t/speedtest
.
Attachments
Speed_Test_Bing_1Gbps_Simcom_SIM8200EA-M2.PNG

punkguy00017
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu May 14, 2020 1:45 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: New ZBT WG1608 5G-ready router + GoldenOrb firmware

Post by punkguy00017 » Sun Dec 13, 2020 5:59 am

Dang that's better than my speed averaging 30-35 mbps lol I'd be very satisfied with 1GB download speed.

ratledge
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2020 9:30 pm
Location: Awendaw / Charleston SC
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Re: New ZBT WG1608 5G-ready router + GoldenOrb firmware

Post by ratledge » Sun Dec 13, 2020 7:10 am

punkguy00017 wrote:
Sat Dec 12, 2020 3:27 pm
Ok thank you. I guess I'll just keep waiting for new firmware to come out. Also thanks for the indepth info.
There is one more possibility: do you have a good power supply?

If you are using the OEM 2amp one, then you need to upgrade to 2.5amp (12v = 30 watt) instead, because that specific modem sucks up a lot of power. Those EM20-G modems are all Engineering Samples, they never went to full production and Quectel moved to the EM160R-GL for CAT16 and EM120R-GL for CAT12, although the EM12-G is still available.

Post Reply