Use Netgear Nighthawk MR1100 as a Modem

Topics related to Routers
Post Reply
scott.flora
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2020 6:40 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Use Netgear Nighthawk MR1100 as a Modem

Post by scott.flora » Sat Feb 08, 2020 1:50 pm

In the link there is a how-to video for connecting the MR1100 to a network router. What I have found is many people have tried this and they end up with no internet connection. That is what happens when I try it with my old Netgear RP114.
The only way I could get it to work is to set the default gateway for the MR1100 to 192.168.65.1 ste the DHCP Range at 192 168.168.65.2 - 99. The IP Passthrough is left off and the DHCP box remains checked. I don't think the RP114 is compatible with the MR1100 for this function. I don't seem to be getting any conflicts, but I know this is way less that ideal. I would sure appreciate any suggestions for perhaps how to set it up or some model numbers of routers that are known to be compatible.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9t1RJsYymGg&t=106s

User avatar
BillA
Posts: 852
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 168 times
Contact:

Re: Use Netgear Nighthawk MR1100 as a Modem

Post by BillA » Sat Feb 08, 2020 7:05 pm

scott.flora wrote:
Sat Feb 08, 2020 1:50 pm
In the link there is a how-to video for connecting the MR1100 to a network router. What I have found is many people have tried this and they end up with no internet connection. That is what happens when I try it with my old Netgear RP114.
The only way I could get it to work is to set the default gateway for the MR1100 to 192.168.65.1 ste the DHCP Range at 192 168.168.65.2 - 99. The IP Passthrough is left off and the DHCP box remains checked. I don't think the RP114 is compatible with the MR1100 for this function. I don't seem to be getting any conflicts, but I know this is way less that ideal. I would sure appreciate any suggestions for perhaps how to set it up or some model numbers of routers that are known to be compatible. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9t1RJsYymGg&t=106s

Whenever you connect a separate modem to your router (DSL, cable, or mobile modem), you need to change both of their IP's, so they are not overlapping in order to be both accessible from your pc. Also, you have to put the modem into pass-through mode (turn off DHCP) so that it doesn't run its own DHCP server to prevent double NAT-ing. Additionally, you can put the modem into DMZ mode to prevent any port blocking. You would normally do that by connecting each device separately to a PC, so you don't wind up with an unusable/stuck device as you have described. If it gets stuck, you will have to factory reset it via the hardware buttons, or try to fix their IP's by connecting each one separately to a pc.

The following example applies to any make and model router/modem combination.
You can set the router to 192.168.1.1, and the modem to 192.168.2.1
The most important thing is that the third octet from left to right are NOT the same in both devices.
In 192.168.x.y "x" must be different, "y" can be the same or different
Hope that helps.

scott.flora
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2020 6:40 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Use Netgear Nighthawk MR1100 as a Modem

Post by scott.flora » Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:19 pm

Thanks again Bill. The way I had the IP addresses configured was the only way the MR1100 would work with my old Netgear RP114. I ended up buying a TP-Link AC1750 Archer A7 with version 5 firmware. I was then able to set the MR1100 to bridge mode or IP Passthrough as they call it and disable the DHCP mode. It works great. There is a limited number of routers that will work this way connected to the MR1100 Nighthawk. I can't explain why though.

Jespa97
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2020 9:29 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Use Netgear Nighthawk MR1100 as a Modem

Post by Jespa97 » Tue Feb 18, 2020 3:06 pm

I just received my MR1100, to replace satellite internet. Getting great speeds just sitting in the window (20-40 Mbps, depending on time of day.) So now, I'm trying to find a tutorial on how to connect it to my Linksys WRT32X router, for a better wifi signal. I already put GoldenOrb on the WRT32X. Has anyone done this successfully? My wifi signal needs to be able to reach my dad in his RV about 100 feet away, through several walls and the Linksys router does this very well, but the nighthawk doesn't.

User avatar
BillA
Posts: 852
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2019 6:46 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 132 times
Been thanked: 168 times
Contact:

Re: Use Netgear Nighthawk MR1100 as a Modem

Post by BillA » Tue Feb 18, 2020 8:48 pm

Jespa97 wrote:
Tue Feb 18, 2020 3:06 pm
I just received my MR1100, to replace satellite internet. Getting great speeds just sitting in the window (20-40 Mbps, depending on time of day.) So now, I'm trying to find a tutorial on how to connect it to my Linksys WRT32X router, for a better wifi signal. I already put GoldenOrb on the WRT32X. Has anyone done this successfully? My wifi signal needs to be able to reach my dad in his RV about 100 feet away, through several walls and the Linksys router does this very well, but the nighthawk doesn't.

Try the method described two posts above > viewtopic.php?p=5598#p5598

User avatar
Didneywhorl
Posts: 941
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 5:37 pm
Location: USA
Has thanked: 201 times
Been thanked: 142 times
Contact:

Re: Use Netgear Nighthawk MR1100 as a Modem

Post by Didneywhorl » Wed Feb 19, 2020 12:16 pm

I typically just turn off the dhcp server on the router I want to use as a wireless access point, and simply link the two routers together via a standard open LAN port
The Solution for your Internet Connectivity and Speed.

Post Reply