Does connection monitoring cause periodic reboots?

Topics related to Routers
Post Reply
LilAkka
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:04 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0

Does connection monitoring cause periodic reboots?

Post by LilAkka » Sun Sep 13, 2020 5:06 pm

So right now it seems my router is either rebooting or just losing connection once a day, then reconnecting. I thought I read somewhere on this forum that connection monitoring will cause periodic router reboots. Is that correct? If so is there a way to disable that feature of connection monitoring? Or is it better to have connection monitoring turned off? Any help with figuring out this connection issue is appreciated.

My router is a WG3526 with an MC7455.

Yipzy
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:06 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: Does connection monitoring cause periodic reboots?

Post by Yipzy » Thu Sep 17, 2020 4:31 pm

I don't see how it would make your modem lose connection as it just does periodic ping command to make sure it gets a reply from the ip you set and without it you won't get to reconnect or reboot the router automatically. If anything it actually tries to keep your connection alive without getting disconnected for idling. If you really think it does cause it, try turning it off in the modem page and monitor the disconnects.

LilAkka
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:04 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 0

Re: Does connection monitoring cause periodic reboots?

Post by LilAkka » Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:07 pm

I tried turning it off and I still got a disconnect, this time instead of auto reconnecting it did nothing. So I guess it’s not connection monitoring. I got a new power supply to see if that was the issue, but now only certain webpages and apps load even though it says it’s connected.

Yipzy
Posts: 212
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 2:06 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 77 times

Re: Does connection monitoring cause periodic reboots?

Post by Yipzy » Thu Sep 17, 2020 6:23 pm

Try to switch DNS provider instead of using the ones from your ISP. Cloudflare 1.1.1.1 & 1.0.0.1 or Google 8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4 will work.

Post Reply